AKiTiO Node Pro Review – Jack of All Trades

eGPU Reviews 27 Comments

Introduction

The on-demand economy has disrupted many aspects of life. In computing, mobile work drove ultrabooks to become hot sellers. They are not without disadvantages given their limited ports and expandability. Thunderbolt 3 has been a boon in bridging these portable computers to high-performing PCIe components. Released at the end of 2017 and retailing for $360, the AKiTiO Node Pro is a prime example. It’s certified by Intel to be both Windows and macOS compatible as a Thunderbolt 3 PCIe expansion device. It can host all kinds of PCIe components from network cards to highly specialized accelerator cards such as the Red Rocket-X. Although neither tested nor certified for use as an external graphics enclosure, it’s possible to install a GPU in the Node Pro. The distinction from a Thunderbolt 3 eGFX enclosure is that it uses a different firmware and carries an extra Thunderbolt 3 port for daisy-chaining. For a detailed explanation of eGFX vs PCIe expansion, you can read more on Intel’s Thunderbolt blog.

Hardware Specifics

AKiTiO Node Pro

AKiTiO Node Pro Interface Overview

Specifications  compare 
Price US$
$360
PSU location-type
internal-SFX
PSU max power500W
GPU max power
400W
Power delivery (PD)
60W x2
USB-C controller
TI83
TB3 USB-C ports2
Ports max bandwidth10Gbps
Size (in/mm, LxWxH)
14.06 x 5.31 x 10.47
357 x 135 x 266
Max GPU len (in/cm)
12.59/32.0
Weight (kg/lb)3.40/7.40
Updated firmware23.1 ✔
TB3 cable length (cm)50
Vendor pagelink
Implementations
link

Unlike the AKiTiO Node, the Node Pro has a more athletic profile. It’s taller and slimmer. The construction materials are more premium as well. While the Node was made of sheet metal, AKiTiO used aluminum panels to put together the Node Pro. This results in a much lighter chassis. No tools are needed to open the enclosure and swap cards. There are four thumb screws, two in the top rear to secure the top cover and another two that sit atop the PCIe slot mounting bracket. These thumb screws take a bit of getting used to in order to align them perfectly when securing a PCIe card.

Rear I/O consists of two Thunderbolt 3 ports and one passthrough DisplayPort. It’s a nice touch by the designer to carve out a recess to easily remove the DisplayPort connector. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve struggled with this usability issue in the back of monitors. Atop the enclosure is a retractable handle. It works very slick and makes carrying the AKiTiO Node Pro around a joy. The entire handle assembly is solid metal with spring-loaded pop-up hinges. This addition to the enclosure reminds me of an ammo box, very utilitarian and durable. Drop a Vega card inside this thing and you’ll be packing serious heat.

The power supply in the Node Pro is located under the PCIe slot daughter board. It’s an SFX 500W 12V single-rail unit. This PSU is capable of providing 60W power delivery through the Thunderbolt 3 ports and up to 400W to a power-hungry card. There are three PCIe power cables. One 6-pin cable goes to a female connector on the PCIe slot daughter board. The other two are 6 + 2-pin cables. A snap-in plastic holder by the front of the enclosure can hold these two PCIe power cables in place when not in use. Cooling the power supply is a built-in 80mm fan, positioned to face the bottom of the unit. Placed in front of the PSU is a 92mm cooling fan. This enclosure fan runs at a constant speed due to a 3-pin connector to the daughter board, so there’s more noise than warranted during low-intensity applications. The fans exhaust hot air outside through the raised platform thanks to a set of four substantial rubber feet.

The Thunderbolt 3 main board and daughter board have metal shields. This is a nice touch to protect these fragile components when card swapping. The usability improvements to this AKiTiO Node Pro come at the cost of serviceability. It is harder to replace parts in the Node Pro compared to the Node. For example, removing the power supply requires the entire box and its components come apart. The tools are three screwdrivers: a PH1 Phillips, a T8 Torx, and a T10 Torx. Here’s the component view:

AKiTiO Node Pro components

AKiTiO Node Pro components

One main difference with eGFX enclosures is in the Thunderbolt 3 controller selection. AKiTiO used a JHL6540 Thunderbolt 3 controller for the Node Pro. The Thunderbolt 3 eGPU enclosures I’ve reviewed so far use the DSL6540 controller instead. As far as eGPU performance goes, the Node Pro may have additional latency due to this JHL6540 controller and dual TB3 port arrangement. I also noticed two TI83 USB-C controllers on the Thunderbolt 3 main board. The Winbond EEPROM is located on the other side of the main board.

Thunderbolt 3 mainboardPCI Slot daughter boardThunderbolt 3 mainboard bottom

Testings & Benchmarks

AKiTiO claims this PCIe enclosure can provide 60W Power Delivery through both Thunderbolt 3 ports. The only way to find out was to hook them up to two TB3 laptops simultaneously. My late 2016 15″ MacBook Pro was able to receive 60W. The other laptop I used concurrently was the early 2018 Razer Blade Stealth which was also able to charge. When used as an external graphics enclosure, the first connected host computer takes priority in using the eGPU. In this mode, it’s also possible to engage the two connected host computers in Thunderbolt networking. Last but not least, I checked the Thunderbolt firmware. The AKiTiO Node Pro comes with version 23.1.

The next step was to test daisy-chain functionality. In order for Thunderbolt 3 eGPU to function properly, it has to be the first device in the chain. Also you may not chain a Thunderbolt external GPU to another external GPU. Doing so will cause the chained eGPU not to work. In Windows you would see this warning message and error 12/yellow-banged on the chained eGPU. There’s no warning message in macOS High Sierra. The chained eGPU would simply not work even though it may show up in System Information » Graphics/Displays tree. Further discussion of this daisy-chain topic takes place here.

Besides external graphics, macOS High Sierra has brought official support for many new high-performance technologies. Two notable features are NVMe flash storage and 10G Ethernet connectivity. It’s now possible to install a NVMe M.2 drive such as the Samsung EVO 960 inside a PCIe enclosure like the AKiTiO Node Pro or inside a Mac computer via an adapter. These flash storage drives have very high speeds and cost less than Apple proprietary drives. Once formatted correctly, they have TRIM support and can boot macOS. Here’s a speed test of a Samsung 256GB EVO 960 inside the Node Pro:

It’s a similar story with 10 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe cards. The iMac Pro has two 10GbE ports that use Aquantia AQC107 chipset. Therefore network interface cards with this same chipset work in macOS 10.13.2 and newer. In my testings these cards are plug-and-play when installed via a Thunderbolt enclosure. The most modern Mac with internal PCIe slots, the Mac Pro tower, has a harder time. There’s PXE boot on most 10GbE cards that cause the Mac Pro to hang at boot. The workaround is to remove PXE boot option by shorting the EEPROM.

AKiTiO Node Pro Thunderbolt 3 PCIe Expansion Enclosure

AKiTiO Node Pro + AORUS RX 580 + Elgato HD60 Pro + ASUS 10GbE + Samsung 960 EVO NVMe

Here’s an unorthodox idea for internal display eGPU acceleration. The theory is to use a capture card to feed the eGPU video signal back into the internal display of a laptop or all-in-one computer such as the iMac. The AKiTiO Node Pro seems like an appropriate enclosure to host an Elgato Game Capture HD60 Pro. In order for this setup to work, I needed another TB3 enclosure that hosts the GPU. The AKiTiO Node Pro + HD60 Pro then receives HDMI signal from the eGPU. While this arrangement partially works, it’s neither cost-effective nor elegant.

For eGPU testing, I’m using a Gigabyte AORUS RX 580. The host computers are a late 2016 15″ MacBook Pro and an early 2018 Razer Blade Stealth. 10.13.4 Beta has better external GPU support for Thunderbolt 3 Macs than previous builds. Keep in mind High Sierra native eGPU functionality is for select AMD Radeon cards only. Nvidia eGPU users can try yifanlu’s workaround. The latest Razer Blade Stealth is one of the best performing ultrabooks for external graphics use. It has the holy trinity of quad-core CPU, four PCI lanes over Thunderbolt 3, and GT4 OPI mode. We’re working on an ultrabook buyer’s guide for eGPU enthusiasts that goes in depth to elaborate on these crucial specifications.

Late 2016 15″ MacBook ProEarly 2018 Razer Blade Stealth

Conclusion

AKiTiO has a very good understanding of its customer base. For years our eGPU community has been modifying AKiTiO’s PCIe expansion enclosures such as the Thunder2 and Thunder3 to host external graphics cards. When the AKiTiO Node arrived last year as one of the first certified eGFX solutions, it made eGPU much more accessible. This also brought competing eGPU enclosures from other manufacturers. The Node Pro is in essence the evolution of the most versatile Thunderbolt 3 enclosure we could ask for. It is the jack of all trades when it comes to Thunderbolt 3 PCIe expandability.

 

Rate this Post

Share this Post

 

Related Articles
  • External GPU Buyer's Guide: 2018 Best eGPU Enclosures Reviewed
    July 14, 2018
  • Asus Xg Station Pro Strix Gtx 1080 Ti 2016 15 In Macbook Pro
    ASUS XG Station Pro Review - Cool, Calm and...
    July 5, 2018
    11
  • Razer Core X Handle Opened
    Razer Core X Review - Thick and Juicy
    May 22, 2018
    23
  • Gigabyte RX 580 Gaming Box Review - Little in...
    May 7, 2018
    59
  • macOS External GPU Review - Out-of-Body Experiment
    May 3, 2018
    45
  • Mantiz Titan Thunderbolt 3 Dock
    Mantiz Titan Thunderbolt 3 Dock Review - #Donglelife Simplified
    April 23, 2018
    35
  • Zotac AMP BOX Mini Review - Budget Friendly, Promise...
    March 19, 2018
    14
  • Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock Review - Dead on...
    March 12, 2018
    18
  • Hands-on with Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock
    January 11, 2018
    29
  • Hands-on with ASUS XG Station Pro Thunderbolt 3 Enclosure
    January 10, 2018
    17
  • Razer Core V2 Review - Think Inside the Box
    January 1, 2018
    8
  • ASUS ROG XG Station 2 Review - Irresponsible Power
    December 20, 2017
    11
  • Sonnet Breakaway Puck Review - Pint-sized Compromise
    November 16, 2017
    11
  • Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Gaming Box Review – Tiny...
    November 3, 2017
    68
  • OMEN Accelerator Review - HP's External GPU Voodoo Doll
    October 14, 2017
    26
  • Unboxing: Sonnet eGFX Breakaway Puck
    October 4, 2017
    31
  • Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1070 Gaming Box Review - Tiny...
    August 11, 2017
    237
  • Unboxing: Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1070 Gaming Box
    August 4, 2017
    5
  • Netstor Hercules HL23T Review - Speak Softly and Carry...
    July 31, 2017
    57
  • The Makings of a Good Thunderbolt 3 Host -...
    July 5, 2017
    6
  • Alienware Graphics Amplifier Review - Faster than Thunderbolt 3...
    June 16, 2017
    4
  • Razer Core Review - an eGPU Enclosure Built for...
    June 8, 2017
  • RX 580 External GPU Review - AMD XConnect and...
    May 27, 2017
    29
  • Sonnet Breakaway Box Review - It's cool to be...
    April 30, 2017
    43
  • Unboxing: Sonnet eGFX Breakaway Box
    April 26, 2017
    17
  • Mantiz Venus Review: All-in-one Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Docking Station
    March 26, 2017
    41
  • AKiTiO Node Review & The State of Thunderbolt 3...
    January 7, 2017
    28
  • Unboxing: AKiTiO Node Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Enclosure
    December 15, 2016
    9
  • Acer Graphics Dock Review
    December 6, 2016
    21

 

27
Leave a Reply

avatar
23 Comment threads
4 Thread replies
2 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
13 Comment authors
ikirjoevtMarkieG84kingmetal Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
matthewmchang
Guest

Awesome review! Quick question, in your testing, did you encounter any PSU fan whine?

Eightarmedpet
Member

Any idea if I could plug my LG Ultrafine 5K display into the other port and have it accelerated?

Antoine
Member

Thanks for the good review @theitsage. It seems not enough space for a radiator and a fan on the bottom for LC cards. Isn’t it?

another_droog
Guest

Fantastic review, thank you!

You mentioned, “the Node Pro may have additional latency”, was this noticeable to you when gaming?

It would be interesting to devise a test to get some latency figures, perhaps by using a high-speed camera.

matthewmchang
Guest

@itsage, When initially turned on, the PSU Fans on my Node Pro do not make any audible noise. But around 30 min. into use, (while editing using Final Cut Pro), the PSU fans start producing a slightly audible high pitched whine, that changes in pitch depending on the speed of the PSU fan. It’s not so loud that would make me not use the Node Pro, but its noticeable.

Antoine
Member

Thanks @theitsage. Do you think that there’s sufficient space on the bottom to insert a longer card such us the Vega LC ? (assuming that the thickness of the fan+radiator is the same of the Fury)

ebolam
Member

A note on the thunderbolt controllers. It looks like the difference between the JHL6540 and the DSL6540 is a non-issue. DSL6540 has been discontinued (see here https://www.anandtech.com/show/11692/intel-to-discontinue-first-gen-thunderbolt-3-controllers). JHL6540 appears to be the successor. Both chips are dual thunderbolt 3 port chips, so I doubt it’ll cause latency issues. I can’t find a copy of the datasheets to do a more real comparison, but from what Intel publishes, there are no differences other than the JHL is lead-free and DSL is not.

Guest

is it possible to run the Samsung drive and a gpu card in the same enclosure? is this possible with any enclosure? would be nice to not run an external ssd and external gpu separately

nando4
Admin

@kyle_jones , the buyer’s guide has several enclosures  (Powercolor Devil Box, Mantiz Venus, Omen Accelerator) with internal SATA-III connectors & bays to host an internal SATA drive. Just note that for best drive & eGPU performance you’d want to host them off their own separate cable.  Such enclosures are also internal USB 3.1 Gen1 hub limited to 5Gbps for those drives. Stepping up one notch, the AKiTiO Node Pro’s daisy-chain TB3 port can function as a 10Gbps USB-C 3.1 port. Consider there: Example USB-C 2.5″ drive components US$35 Satechi Aluminium 10Gbps USB-C 3.1 enclosure Or US$20 Startech 10Gbps USB-C to… Read more »

Guest

Hi, I bought the enclosure and should arrive soon and I bought an EVGA 1080ti SC2 hybrid. I’ve notice that the GPU has a fan, is there space to install it?
Can I use this card?

Guest

Hi, I’ve ordered the akitio node pro and should arrive at the beginning of March.
I’m recapping what I need to do in order to let this work.
Having the Nvidia Evga 1080Ti hydro copper I will need the download the latest driver (I saw a thread on this website) install the latest High Sierra and should work?
Is there a step by step?

Best,

Thank you!

kingmetal
Member

Have had my Node Pro for about a week hooked up to a 13″ Spectre X360 (8550U) with an Asus-braded RX 480. So far I have been happy with the performance of the Node Pro, but I have to say the fans are pretty crazy. The case fan (which is an exhaust fan, which seems odd to me) was pretty low quality and runs all the time. I found the sound it made to be, honestly, pretty annoying so I replaced it with an $8 92MM fan. It’s bad enough that this fan seems to just run constantly, but it… Read more »

MarkieG84
Member

Does anyone know if it makes a difference if you plug a usb 3/thunderbolt hub into the second port of the enclosure or the second port of the device/controller? I’m asking because I have a 2 port “13 MacBook, this enclosure, and a usb 3 hub.

MarkieG84
Member

Posted by: kingmetal Have had my Node Pro for about a week hooked up to a 13″ Spectre X360 (8550U) with an Asus-braded RX 480. So far I have been happy with the performance of the Node Pro, but I have to say the fans are pretty crazy. The case fan (which is an exhaust fan, which seems odd to me) was pretty low quality and runs all the time. I found the sound it made to be, honestly, pretty annoying so I replaced it with an $8 92MM fan. It’s bad enough that this fan seems to just run… Read more »

ebolam
Member

I have one and use a USB 3 hub (with a built-in gigabit network adapter) plugged into the Akitio node pro. I used a USB keyboard and mouse for a while on the hub as well (changed to Bluetooth for various reasons). It works fine with no issues, even while gaming Note the more data you push through the hub, the less data is available for the graphics card. A keyboard and mouse won’t really matter, but a gigabit network adapter used at max speed will use a non-insignificant chunk of the 40Gb thunderbolt 3 connection. Normal internet traffic probably… Read more »

joevt
Member

Posted by: kingmetal Other than that, peripherals absolutely do not work on the second TB3 port, which is as expected, and the rest of the enclosure works fantastically. Why is it expected that peripherals don’t work on the second TB3 port? The TB3 port should be able to handle chaining a Thunderbolt 3 device, or connecting a USB device, a USB-C dock, or a USB-C display or display adapter. Is there something wrong with the Spectre X360’s BIOS or Windows OS? Maybe not enough resources (I/O memory or whatever) when using a GPU? Is the second TB3 port usable when no… Read more »

ebolam
Member

To add to the above comment, I have a HP spectre x360 13  and it works fine with a USB 3 hub plugged into the second port on the node pro.

joevt
Member

Posted by: ebolam
To add to the above comment, I have a HP spectre x360 13  and it works fine with a USB 3 hub plugged into the second port on the node pro.

With a eGPU installed in the Node Pro?

ebolam
Member

Posted by: joevt

Posted by: ebolam
To add to the above comment, I have a HP spectre x360 13  and it works fine with a USB 3 hub plugged into the second port on the node pro.

With a eGPU installed in the Node Pro?

Yes, an AMD Radeon RX 580.

ikir
Member

I would love to try Akitio Node Pro with a the beast (Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro+
Dimensions are ok, I can replace the power supply with a SFS Enermax Revolution 650W.

But I fear the box itself can become very hot with such a card, since I’m trying it with Venus with is smaller and the heat is worrying.
What do you suggest guys? Do you think Akitio Node can run cooler maybe adding an additional fan?

ebolam
Member

I have an AMD rx 580 and it stays within a reasonable temp range. I can drop the temp a bit by simply opening the top (of has two thumb screws so it’s easy to take on and off).