AKiTiO Node Review & The State of Thunderbolt 3 eGPU

eGPU Reviews 28 Comments

Introduction

Let me start this AKiTiO Node review by getting one thing out there first. Intel needs to stop crippling its Thunderbolt implementation and let eGPU go mainstream. Every major computer manufacturer has shown its commitment to USB-C and Thunderbolt 3 connectivity. CES 2017 brought an onslaught of external graphics card solutions. People want them and will pay for them. Intel has no excuse.

Hardware Specifics

Inside of AKiTiO Node Thunderbolt 3 graphics expansion box

AKiTiO Node with liquid cooled EVGA GTX 980Ti

Specifications  compare 
Price US$
$259
PSU location-type
internal-SFX
PSU max power 400W
GPU max power
375W
Power delivery (PD)
15W
USB-C controller
TI83
TB3 USB-C ports 1
USB3.0 ports (+C type)
Ethernet & SATA port
Size (in/mm, LxWxH)
16.85 x 5.71 x 8.94
428 x 145 x 227
Max GPU len (in/cm)
12.60 / 32.0
Weight (kg/lb) 4.90/10.78
Updated firmware B1-25+4.3.3
TB3 cable length (cm) 50
Implementations
link

As earlier reports pointed out, the AKiTiO Node TB3 board has the Texas Instrument TPS65983 (TI83) USB-C controller with Thunderbolt 3 support. Interestingly Apple’s first Thunderbolt 3 Mac, the Late 2016 MacBook Pro, only supports this TI83 controller. Older Thunderbolt 3 enclosures with the TI82 controller such as Razer Core, AKiTiO Thunder3, and Plugable TB3 docks do not have official support in macOS 10.12 Sierra. This is likely a software limitation Apple uses to restrict the implementation of external graphics cards on macOS.

AKiTiO Node Thunderbolt 3 board with Texas Instrument TPS65983 (TI83)

AKiTiO Node Thunderbolt 3 board with Texas Instrument TPS65983 (TI83)

I’ve been using this AKiTiO Node with a Late 2016 13″ non-touchbar MacBook Pro. It’s an awesome setup…in Windows 10 that is. As soon as I installed Windows 10 through Bootcamp, the system immediately detected the eGPU and prompted me to install the appropriate drivers (for a GTX 980 Ti Hybrid). After a restart the MacBook Pro was up and running with a fully functional GTX 980 Ti Thunderbolt 3 eGPU. Nvidia Optimus was running to power the MacBook Pro’s internal display, all benchmark software and games were able to make use of the GTX 980 Ti without a fuss. It was beautiful.

It’s another story in macOS. Even though the TI83 is compatible with the Late 2016 MacBook Pro and macOS recognizes the Thunderbolt 3 connection, there is a software block to prevent detection of the external graphics card. Many are working to come up with a solution.

1/10/17 Update: I was searching for additional documentation and firmware information on Texas Instrument TPS65983 controller and found a firmware update for the Node. The AKiTiO Node with its v1.0.0.3 B1-23+3.6.1 version is now working in macOS. I’ve tried it with the Late 2016 13″ and 15″ MacBook Pro and they both work. The only modification is automate-eGPU script from Goalque. Here’s a quick video of the setup in action.

As far as the hardware itself, the only downside I’ve noticed with the Node is the PSU’s fan. It’s louder than it should be. I disconnected the PSU fan (warning: you’ll void the warranty with this mod), and this eGPU is very quiet during operation now.

All component view AKiTiO Node review

You may have seen unboxing photos from an earlier AKiTiO Node post. The enclosure is bigger than you would imagine from seeing photos online. I like it to be honest. I’m sick of designs full of compromises. The Node enclosure and its size accommodates every double-wide GPU made. Look at the EVGA GTX 980 Ti and its liquid cooling components. Everything fits inside with room to spare. I have not put the outer case back on because I like the look of the eGPU this way.

AKiTiO Node review withGTX 980 Ti eGPU and Dell XPS 13

The 400W power supply is surprisingly small and has 3 PCIe cables. One 6-pin PCIe cable goes into the boards. The other two 6+2 PCIe cables are for the GPU.  It’s plenty enough to power most graphics cards. I’ve even tried a Sapphire R9 Fury X which is a 400W TDP card, and the PSU has no issues keeping up under load.

One nice improvement in this AKiTiO enclosure compared to other Thunderbolt expansion boxes I’ve used is the front fan and its mounting. There are two thumb screws holding a 120mm fan and its sliding bracket. I was able to mount the GTX 980 Ti radiator and fan without any modification because of this universal design and sizing.

Thumb screw for fan bracket on AKiTiO Node

The best feature? Its price. I know $300 $245 is still a lot of money but compared to other options on the market, the AKiTiO Node is the most affordable all-in-one Thunderbolt 3 eGPU box. Another nice thing is AKiTiO’s support and involvement with the eGPU community. Many forum members have shared their stories and good experiences with AKiTiO’s customer service. I reached out to Razer and other eGPU makers for a demo unit to test and find a solution for macOS. AKiTiO was one of the two who shipped us a demo unit (Mantiz was the other).

AKiTiO Node + GTX 980 Ti + Intell NUC Skull Canyon

AKiTiO Node + GTX 980 Ti + Intell NUC Skull Canyon

Testings

To assess and review this AKiTiO Node, I tried these Thunderbolt 3 computers and here are the recaps:

  • Late 2016 13″ non-touchbar MacBook Pro – as of 1/10/17 works in both macOS and Windows 10: link
  • Dell XPS 13 9350 – Thunderbolt Software shows eGPU not supported – as of 1/10/17, plug-n-play, fully functional: link
  • Intel NUC Skull Canyon – plug-n-play, fully functional.
  • Alienware 17 R4 – plug-n-play, fully functional: link
  • Late 2016 15″ MacBook Pro – same as the 13″ in macOS, but requires a DSDT override in Windows 10 to resolve error 12: link

During my testings, I’ve found some frustration with Thunderbolt 3 implementation due to outdated Thunderbolt firmware. All Thunderbolt 3 equipped computers are capable of using an eGPU such as this AKiTiO Node. Yet some would show “External GPU Supported: No” in Intel Thunderbolt Software (Dell XPS 9350 is an example). The reason I’ve found is the NVM firmware and its communication with the TI83 controller. NVM firmware version 18 and newer would show support for external graphics cards. If you have a machine with an older NVM firmware, contact your computer manufacturer to expedite the release of new Thunderbolt firmware updates.

1/10/17 Update: The AKiTiO Node firmware update on 1/6/17 claims “Added: Support for Thunderbolt 3 hosts that do not support external GPUs”. Indeed it had. The Dell XPS and Late 2016 MacBook Pro are amongst the host devices which benefit from this new firmware.

Conclusion

So why does Apple stop us from experiencing such a great solution for their thin and light laptops? Some may guess Apple is working on its own eGPU product; I highly doubt this. Given its design and sales strategies over the years, the only way Apple would ever implement an eGPU is through a sealed Thunderbolt 3 display, using a custom board GPU. Well, Apple stopped building displays.

My opinion on this situation is the same as the Mac Pro tower vs. the newer Mac Pro trashcan. You can custom build the older Mac Pro to be much more powerful than its newer iteration. Apple wants tight control over its Mac lineup hierarchy. An eGPU would disrupt this order.

Regardless of what Intel, Apple, and the OEMs decide to do, people want external graphics cards for the latest breed of computers. The AKiTiO Node is the first enclosure to push eGPU mainstream with its all-in-one box and reasonable price point. As a long time Mac user, I’d buy this Thunderbolt 3 enclosure and start making the switch away from Apple.

Join our forum for latest Thunderbolt 3 eGPU development. Please share your thoughts in the comments or in our Thunderbolt Enclosure forum.

 

See also

 

Rate this Post

Share this Post

 

Related Articles
  • Best eGPU Enclosures Reviewed - External GPU Buyer's Guide...
    October 16, 2018
  • Akitio Node Duo Tested Pcie Expansion Cards
    AKiTiO Node Duo Review - Two Slots, Endless Possibilities
    October 15, 2018
    2
  • State of eGPU for Macs – Mojave 10.14 Update
    October 13, 2018
    62
  • Asus Xg Station Pro Strix Gtx 1080 Ti 2016 15 In Macbook Pro
    ASUS XG Station Pro Review - Cool, Calm and...
    August 16, 2018
    50
  • Blackmagic Egpu Radeon Pro 580 Alienware 15 R3
    Blackmagic eGPU Review - Apple's UltraFine Curse
    July 31, 2018
    39
  • Razer Core X Handle Opened
    Razer Core X Review - Thick and Juicy
    May 22, 2018
    32
  • Gigabyte RX 580 Gaming Box Review - Little in...
    May 7, 2018
    64
  • macOS External GPU Review - Out-of-Body Experiment
    May 3, 2018
    45
  • Mantiz Titan Thunderbolt 3 Dock
    Mantiz Titan Thunderbolt 3 Dock Review - #Donglelife Simplified
    April 23, 2018
    35
  • Zotac AMP BOX Mini Review - Budget Friendly, Promise...
    March 19, 2018
    16
  • Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock Review - Dead on...
    March 12, 2018
    24
  • AKiTiO Node Pro Review - Jack of All Trades
    February 12, 2018
    38
  • Hands-on with Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock
    January 11, 2018
    29
  • Hands-on with ASUS XG Station Pro Thunderbolt 3 Enclosure
    January 10, 2018
    17
  • Razer Core V2 Review - Think Inside the Box
    January 1, 2018
    10
  • ASUS ROG XG Station 2 Review - Irresponsible Power
    December 20, 2017
    11
  • Sonnet Breakaway Puck Review - Pint-sized Compromise
    November 16, 2017
    11
  • Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Gaming Box Review – Tiny...
    November 3, 2017
    69
  • OMEN Accelerator Review - HP's External GPU Voodoo Doll
    October 14, 2017
    33
  • Unboxing: Sonnet eGFX Breakaway Puck
    October 4, 2017
    31
  • Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1070 Gaming Box Review - Tiny...
    August 11, 2017
    237
  • Unboxing: Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1070 Gaming Box
    August 4, 2017
    5
  • Netstor Hercules HL23T Review - Speak Softly and Carry...
    July 31, 2017
    65
  • The Makings of a Good Thunderbolt 3 Host -...
    July 5, 2017
    6
  • Alienware Graphics Amplifier Review - Faster than Thunderbolt 3...
    June 16, 2017
    23
  • Razer Core Review - an eGPU Enclosure Built for...
    June 8, 2017
  • RX 580 External GPU Review - AMD XConnect and...
    May 27, 2017
    29
  • Sonnet Breakaway Box Review - It's cool to be...
    April 30, 2017
    43
  • Unboxing: Sonnet eGFX Breakaway Box
    April 26, 2017
    17
  • Mantiz Venus Review: All-in-one Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Docking Station
    March 26, 2017
    44
  • Unboxing: AKiTiO Node Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Enclosure
    December 15, 2016
    9
  • Acer Graphics Dock Review
    December 6, 2016
    21

 

28
Leave a Reply

avatar
15 Comment threads
13 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
17 Comment authors
PCMods4FunVanceAlbertChrisAlex Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
ed_co
Guest
ed_co

Mate, thanks for your review, I am really with you.

Phillip
Guest
Phillip

Excellent review. Everything I wanted to know. It seems that the big news here is that you do NOT require an external display to use the eGPU? I don’t think I need a desktop anymore since I can plug my GPU into my macbook…

Craig
Guest
Craig

Great post. I am looking at building an egpu setup in the near future and am excited to read about what works and what doesn’t. I am curious to know if any of the new nvidia pascal cards work in bootcamp on Windows with the macbook’s internal display?

A-Ron
Guest
A-Ron

Will this enclosure downgrade backwards to support TB2 for older mbp?

nando4
Admin

Yes, older TB2 and TB1 Macbooks have successfully used this TB3 enclosure via the US$29 Apple TB3-to-TB2 adapter in macOS and Windows. See examples at https://egpu.io/external-gpu-implementations-table/?table_filter=%22%3ETB3%22

David Glass
Guest
David Glass

Thank you for getting this information out there. I was wondering if you had any idea whether a grx1080 would work in a similar boot camp setup?

James Kwon
Guest
James Kwon

Sorry for bad English.
Excellence review! I am planning to use this node with Razer blade stealth because I heard node is fully functional with RBS.(like plug and play)
One question though, how is the performance though? I know theoretically it should be no different from Razer core(TOO EXPENSIVE) and I know there will be some performance loss( 10~15%) but it will be still nice to see the actual numbers from benchmarks or some gaming review.

Question
Guest

Do you think that this device will work on de hp spectre x360 i5, it has two thunderbold 3 ports?? I dont know if hp firmware could give problems??

nando4
Admin

There are existing Spectre X360 TB3 eGPU implementations using other enclosures: https://egpu.io/external-gpu-implementations-table/?table_filter=%22spectre%22 so the notebook is OK. The Node with newest firmware is too unlikely to be a problem, though are not yet available to be 100% sure.

danfalconar
Member

Hello itsage, thank you for the excellent review. You mention that the node has a 120mm fan, do you if it will mount a 140mm radiator/fan? You mention a universal mount, I’m hoping it has some room.

danfalconar
Member

Legend, thank you! I guess one of these bad boys will do the trick: https://www.amazon.com/Bgears-Cooling-Fan-Adapter-140mm-Black/dp/B0043GMY1U .

rageheart
Guest
rageheart

Thanks for the detailed review! I’d like to ask though, would this be compatible with my relatively old Acer Predator (G9-592) with Thunderbolt 3? I’ve lurked around Acer forums etc regarding egpu’s for my laptop, and found no definite answers.

Alex
Guest
Alex

I Need to get the PCIE to Thunderbolt daughterboard. Any ideas where I could find them online?

Chris
Guest
Chris

Hello There, thanks for this in depth review and lotssss of advises 🙂
I was looking into this laptop/egpu setup and from tests I gathered a few points:
1) Heat is an issue, is the heat level reduced by using a Egpu. I guess it’s yes but to what extent
2) Performance seems still under a desktop, any comments there? I mean considering the whole setup
3) Noise can be an issue too like foe the Razer, any info on noise levels?
4) I was also looking at the intel NUC option, any feedback on noise ? performance against the laptop/egpu setup?

Albert
Guest
Albert

I have bought an Akitio Node TB3 and a GTX 1080, but I have a problem in bootcamp win 10 in 2016 mbp15. Though sometimes it works, for most of time the windows fails to reboot or to recognize 1080, the system give me an error code 43 or 12, or the Nvidia control center with the latest driver shows me that “you are not using a display attached to an Nvidia gpu.” Anybody has some ideas to fix this problem? I am pretty sure that the gpu is not defective.

nando4
Admin
Vance
Guest
Vance

So how did you update the firmware on the Node? I can’t do it in bootcamp without an error about not having the TB driver…

PCMods4Fun
Member

Hello All,
There are so many different version numbers? How does one make sense of it all?
Specifically, I am looking at Akitio Nodes firmware. They use numbers like:
B1-25+4.3.3 and B1-23+3.6.1
But when you look at details from the taskbar software notification Thunderbolt settings, you get things like PD firmware version and NVM firmware version. How do identify the mapping for these to Akitio’s numbers?
Or more simply, how do I know my Akitio Node is running the latest available firmware version?
I know Akitio has this tool:
https://www.akitio.com/firmware/thunderbolt3-firmware-viewer
But how do make sense of what I am seeing? How does this correlate to B1-25+4.3.3 and/or B1-23+3.6.1?
 
Thanks.