2017 15" MBP + AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT + Razer Core X - Issues switching from dGPU...

Notifications

2017 15" MBP + AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT + Razer Core X - Issues switching from dGPU to eGPU  

RSS

cereallarceny
(@cereallarceny)

First of all, coming across this website has been massively helpful for eGPU enthusiasts out there. I'm just getting started on my first set up and your website has become my holy book. 😉 Let's dive in:

System Specs:

• Mid 2017 MacBook Pro 15" with Touchbar
  • 3.1 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
  • 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3
  • AMD Radeon Pro 560 4GB (dGPU)
  • Intel HD Graphics 630 1536MB (iGPU)
  • 512GB PCIe SSD
  • macOS Catalina 10.15.3 (19D76)
  • Windows 10, version 1903 (18362.30)

eGPU hardware:

Installation steps for Windows 10 (Boot Camp):

1. Fresh install of Windows with Boot Camp drivers
  2. Modified Group Policies to disable all Windows Updates
  3. Create fresh restore point
  4. Install DDU
  5. Reboot into safe mode and run DDU
  6. Reboot into Windows (not safe mode), install drivers from bootcampdrivers.com (Downloads --> 2020 drivers --> Adrenalin January 2020, Blue Enterprise Edition (Best for MBP 16 inch and Radeon 500 series). Driver version is 26.20.15011.10003, dated at 1/13/2020, and signed by bootcampdrivers.com.
  7. Reboot into Windows (not safe mode) and cold-boot with eGPU enclosure attached

Notes:

On first glance, everything works well in Windows 10:

• I have no error 12 codes.
  • I see both "AMD Radeon 560" and "AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT" showing up in the device manager, neither are yellow banged.
  • I'm able to actually see Windows on my laptop and projector screen (which I use as a monitor) and visually everything looks correct.

However, a few cracks begin to appear related to audio not working: