2019 Macbook Pro 15" + Blackmagic eGPU Pro - can't see the eGPU in device manage...

Notifications
Clear all

2019 Macbook Pro 15" + Blackmagic eGPU Pro - can't see the eGPU in device manager  

RSS

swistak
(@swistak)

Context:

15" 2019 8C Macbook Pro

Blackmagic eGPU Pro (titan ridge)

Windows 10 2004

Symptoms:

1. When I plug in the eGPU in Windows, I get the "ping" that new device has been connected, device manager refreshes, then I get the ping that a device has been disconnected

2. I see no devices showing problems in device manager

3. If I use the automate-egpu EFI, it detects 3 addresses for GPU but won't let me select an eGPU

Questions:

1. How can I see the logs of devices connected to windows? I am quite new to it, but looking for something like Mac OS "Console" app

2. How can I force automate-egpu to allow me to select things that appear as iGPU/dGPU instead?

3. Is there anything else I can do to try to get the eGPU to show up?

I am going to try installing 1903 so that I can copy pci-e.sys across (and see if there is an older working version) but I'd appreciate any other hints. Need 1909 or later for the xbox live game pass to work 🙁 

For what it's worth, an identical setup with 2017 Macbook Pro works straight out of the box, without any extra work to setup EFI etc

This topic was modified 4 weeks ago
2019 15" MacBook Pro (RP560X) [9th,8C,H] + RX Vega 56 @ 32Gbps-TB3 (Blackmagic eGPU Pro) + macOS 10.15.5 & Win10 2004 [build link]  

ReplyQuote
itsage
(@itsage)
Illustrious Member Admin

@swistak, Take a look at the modified apple_set_os.efi v0.5 which works better on Apple T2 Security Chip Macs.

external graphics card builds
best laptops for external GPU
eGPU enclosure buyer's guide

2020 13" MacBook Pro [10th,4C,G] + RTX 2080 Ti @ 32Gbps-TB3 (AORUS Gaming Box) + Win10 2004 [build link]  

ReplyQuote
swistak
(@swistak)