Automate-egpu + MacBook Pro 15" 2017 + Razer Core X + AMD RX Vega 64 100% workin...

Notifications
Clear all

Automate-egpu + MacBook Pro 15" 2017 + Razer Core X + AMD RX Vega 64 100% working internal display.  

RSS

Mossito
(@mossito)

Hi

@goalque thank you very much for this EFI software, my macbook supports my egpu out of the box for macOS but I wanted to make it work in bootcamp. Thanks to this software I got it working perfectly.
I wanted to share my experience and may be help someone, I got a few days ago my egpu and it took me quite a few hours to get it working as I'm a noob.

System specs
- MacBook Pro 15" 2017  i7 2.9Ghz

eGPU hardware 
- Razer Core X box
- Saphire AMD RX Vega 64 card.
- Choetech 2M thunderbolt 3 Active cable.

Installation steps
This is the procedure I followed (please keep in mind I did lots of tests so may be something is missing). Also notice that because my windows is set in Spanish, may be some windows options have a slightly different name.

- Copy in an empty FAT32 USB drive the EFI folder of the automate-egpu V1.0.5, change the configuration in the config.plist MuxSetting to 1
- Unmount and unplug Razer core x
- Unmount and unplug USB drive
- Install bootcamp windows 10 pro 64 bit version without the USB or the egpu plugged in.
- Install apple bootcamp drivers.
- Reboot and test that everything works normally.
- Do all Windows updates, specially make sure you are in 1803 windows version.
- Create restore point
- Boot windows in safe mode, and uninstall apple GPU drivers with DDU tool.
- Power off the machine.
- Plug in the USB with the EFI folder and boot pressing option key, then press q and choose windows partition.
- Plug the Razer core X cable, you should see a new card in windows device manager (you will see 3).
- Install AMD Radeon last software for Vega 64, at this point the software will tell that no AMD hardware is found in the system.