Notifications
Clear all

Mac mini 2014 egpu  

of  2
  RSS

CARL0S714
(@carl0s714)

Hello, I just joined. I have a question, now keep in mind I’m new to all this, but I have a Mac mini 2014 with boot camp and I have a razer core x with a gtx970. I have it connected via thunderbolt 2 to a thunderbolt 2 adapter to thunderbolt bolt 3 to the egpu. so far i can confirm (as far as i know) that it’s working. It shows up in device manager and I have downloaded the correct nvidia drivers. My question is how do I get my display to show via the gpu hdmi port instead of using the Mac mini’s hdmi port? when I connect it to my hdmi port on my gpu I don’t get a signal? And one more thing to note/ ask. For some reason I can’t have my egpu on when Im turning on my Mac mini. When I turn it on and turn on my egpu it just goes into a boot loop of sorts. It just keeps restarting. So I turn it off and then it restarts and shows windows repair and it diagnoses and restarts and tells me that some problems occurred and updates and drivers were removed. So in order for my egpu to run I have to wait until I’m logged into windows and I’m on my desktop and then I turn it on and it works. Not that that’s an issue for me just wanted to know your guys thoughts on that. What I’m really looking for is my first question. I believe it’s better to have the display out put from my gpu instead of my Mac that way it’s Mac to tb2 to tb3 to gpu to hdmi to my monitor. Thanks any help or advice will be much appreciated!

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
hans-st.
(@hans-st)
Trusted Member

@carl0s714

I am not sure if I understand your points.

First, did you check the Mac Mini 2014 builds?