Solving Error 12 in Windows (2016 MacBook Pro 15")

Notifications
Clear all

Solving Error 12 in Windows (2016 MacBook Pro 15")  

RSS

Relvce
(@relvce)

Hey!
So my Akitio Node finally arrived today and I there were no problems to get it to work in MacOs. However in Windows 10 I got the famous Error 12 after installing the Nvidia drivers...

I have the 2016 Macbook Pro 15" with the Radeon Pro 455 and I'm using a Nvidia Geforce GTX 970 in the Akitio Node.

I went to this post https://egpu.io/forums/mac-setup/2016-macbook-pro-solving-egpu-error-12-in-windows-10/#post-5963 to find a solution.

So first, I tried to disable the PCIe bridge above the Facetime Camera however there isn't any PCIe bridges above the Factime Camera in my device manager. 

Error 12

So then my only choice is to perform a DSDT override isn't it? As I'm new to the eGpu world I have a few questions about this. Is the right order step 1 option 1, step 2 option 1 and then step 3 for me? Also it says in the guide:

"It is unlikely this will succeed first time as the compiler is very strict. Errors reported will need to be looked at with Notepad++ on the line they occur on. Search for a unique error keyword from your dsdt-modified.dsl error line within dsdt-modified.asl (it may look a bit different) and the just swap the lines above/below into your dsdt-modified.dsl file and compile. This was sufficient to get a Dell XPS 9350, Dell E6540, 2016 15" Macbook Pro DSDT override all done perfectly." 

Can somebody please explain this to me again as I don't understand what I should do when it doesn't succeed.

I also found a link to this software  https://egpu.io/egpu-setup-13x/ but it says it's not compatible with the 2016 Macbook Pros..Is this right?

Thank you in advance and I hope we can get this to work together! Smile

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
goalque
(@goalque)
Noble Member Admin