2012 13" MacBook Pro [3rd, 2C,M] + RX 580 @ 10Gbps-TB1>TB3 (Mantiz Venus) + macO...

Notifications
Clear all

2012 13" MacBook Pro [3rd, 2C,M] + RX 580 @ 10Gbps-TB1>TB3 (Mantiz Venus) + macOS 10.14.6  

RSS

applejuice
(@applejuice)

System specs 

1. 2012 13-inch Macbook Pro
  2. MacOS 10.14.6 Mojave
  3. Intel i7 2,9 GHz
  4. 16 GB RAM 1600MHz DDR3
  5. Intel Graphics HD 4000 1536MB

eGPU hardware

1. Preowned Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 580 8GB
  2. Mantiz Venus with stock Power Supply
  3. Apple Thunderbolt 2 Cable
  4. Apple Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 adapter

Hardware pictures (WIP)

Installation steps

Hello, I am new to this eGPU stuff, so every input and advice are appreciated. First of all, I get a Mantiz Venus from a friend of mine and think of reviving my old 13-inch mid 2012 Macbook Pro. After browsing some of the guide inside this forum, I decided to first work on single OS instead of dual OS. I considered my first attempt as a failure, as follows :

1. I do a fresh install on my 1TB Samsung SSD, used the whole drive for this.
  2. Installed purge-wrangler
  3. I use an Apple TB2->TB3 connector and an Apple Thunderbolt cable to connect the enclosure to my Mac.
  4. At first it's not detecting the eGPU, and wonders if I should enable T82, but after few cable reconnecting and restarting with eGPU turned on and connected, it managed to detect my eGPU as Ellesmere Family RX 580 .
  5. Using Activity monitor to check the GPU, and 2 GPU detected, but :
    1. My GPU shows only single Intel Graphics HD 4000
    2. I tried to use set-eGPU to force all application to use eGPU, it works, shown from the Activity Monitor that when I play videos, resource used was from Radeon RX 580, but on System Information, it still only shows single Intel Graphics HD 4000.
    3. I tried to restart several times and it still the same
    4. Another issue is my Sapphire Pulse fan not working at all (is this normal?) Forgot to plug 8-pin PSU, Fan is okay

Temporary Conclusion