2012 14" Toshiba R940 + [email protected] (EXP GDC 8.4d) + Win10 [Kennymr2]  

RSS

Kennymr2
(@kennymr2)
June 28, 2018 8:26 pm  

This is my very first time at posting on a forum so apologies if I post in the wrong place or you can't see my photos.

System
Toshiba Tecra R940 BIOS V 6.50
I5-3340M @ 2.7 ghz
Windows 7 Professional
1TB Samsung SSD
8GB RAM

eGPU

Nvidia GTX 950 (HD 4000)
EXP GDC V8.4d Beast, Express Card version
ATX supply 350W

Installation
I bought SETUP 1.35 from Nando which was a godsend as I couldn't have got this build up and running without it. Saying that it still wasn't easy. I couldn't use the compaction part of the program due to I think my TOLUD being 3.75GB so my only option was to do the DSDT fix.A quick scan of the guide and I just thought "there's no way I'm going to manage this!" but I slowly worked through the guide and it wasn't as bad as I thought even though have the time I didn't have a clue what I was doing.Anyway, I used the Intel method. Encountered 1 Error that was easily fixed so put my aml file into config folder in the ram disc. I was getting random crashes no matter if I used Gen 1 or Gen 2. I have now put it down to the fact that my GTX950 is overclocked as standard so have underclocked it and that seems to have made quite a difference, still get the odd crash but it can be after a few hours gaming in Gen 2, I think the crashes are just a way to stop me playing games and go do something more productive!I set the power supply to be on all the time by switching one of the switches in the EXP GDC. I boot my laptop until it shows my Windows 7/setup 1.35 screen then I plug my expresscard in. I wrapped the cable from the EXP GDC in tin foil as had read that it improves stability, I then put cable wrap around it because its such a thin cable I was wary of it being damaged.
Fitted everything in a housing which is much tidier than having all the wires coming from the power supply.

[img] [/img]