2017 15" MacBook Pro (RP560) [7th,4C,H] + RTX 3060 Ti @ 32Gbps-TB3 (Razer Core X...

Notifications
Clear all

2017 15" MacBook Pro (RP560) [7th,4C,H] + RTX 3060 Ti @ 32Gbps-TB3 (Razer Core X) + Win10 20H2 // Oculus Link  

RSS

whrichd
(@whrichd)

I just upgraded from AMD RX590 to NVIDIA 3060 Ti. I used to want the GPU to work with MacOS but now I realize the improvement on the few amount of video editing that I do is pretty negligible plus there aren't any games on MacOS (as of now). I'm a machine learning engineer, so I'm also thinking of starting some side projects, and NVIDIA CUDA would be very useful. 

System specs (model inc screen size, CPU, iGPU, dGPU, operating system which eGPU is being used)

15 inch Macbook Pro, 2017.

• 2.9 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
  • Intel HD Graphics 630
  • AMD Radeon Pro 560
  • NVIDIA card, so only works with Windows at this point

eGPU hardware (eGPU enclosure, video card, any third-party TB3 cable, any custom mods)

Hardware pictures

(Yep I'm currently playing some racing games in VR, very nice experience with the upgrade)

Installation steps

They say it's plug-an-play for NVIDIA cards with Macs, but maybe I'm misunderstanding the meaning of it: if I hotplug the eGPU it just instantly crash my computer...

I was on Windows 10 1903 because my previous card RX590, but it always crashes no matter if I hotplug, coldplug...the card wasn't even recognized in Device Manager, so I tried to install the NVIDIA driver from the website, but during installation my computer crashed. When it's rebooted, there's still nothing.