2017 Alienware 15R3 GTX1070 + RTX [email protected] (Razer Core) + Linux Pop!_OS 18.10 [theitsage]  

RSS

theitsage
(@itsage)
Famed Member Admin
October 26, 2018 2:31 am  

I had wanted to test eGPU with Linux for a while. I'm a novice and prefer to stay as close to the GUI experience as possible. Pop!_OS provides two installer ISOs, one of which is for Nvidia GPU system. The OS installation was straight forward and Nvidia 410 drivers was ready to go.

System specs:

2017 Alienware 15 R3 - i7-7700HQ/GTX 1070 dGPU/HD Graphics 630 iGPU/32GB RAM/512GB NVMe SSD + 1TB HDD

eGPU hardware:

Razer Core + Nvidia RTX 2080 + .5m Thunderbolt 3 cable

Hardware pictures:

Installation steps:

This Linux distribution is largely based on Ubuntu. The kernel version is 4.18. Under Settings > Devices is where I found the Thunderbolt section. The first option called Direct Access was turned on by default. External GPU is one of the devices that needs direct access. As soon as I connected the Razer Core, the system prompted me to authorize the Thunderbolt 3 enclosure.

There was no notification of a connected eGPU such as an icon in macOS or Windows taskbar. I ran CUDA-Z and saw both GTX 1070 and RTX 2080.

Benchmarks:

I haven't figured out how to make the eGPU provide monitor output. The connected monitor had no signal. Nvidia X Server Settings showed only the dGPU. I would appreciate any help you can provide to enable monitor output. In the mean time I ran Unigine benchmarks through the internal display with GTX 1070 dGPU.

Best ultrabooks for eGPU use

eGPU enclosure buying guide

86 external GPU build guides

OliverB and nu_ninja liked
ReplyQuote
nu_ninja
(@nu_ninja)
Trusted Member
October 26, 2018 2:56 am  

Very interesting. With the display issue, would it be possible to disable the dGPU and run the internal screen using the iGPU? @gt0242 's post makes me think that a single nvidia gpu works well, whereas your and @hunabku 's builds use a nvidia dGPU and eGPU.