2018 15" MacBook Pro (RP560X) [8th,6C,H] + RTX 3080 @ 32Gbps-TB3 (AORUS Gaming B...

Notifications
Clear all

2018 15" MacBook Pro (RP560X) [8th,6C,H] + RTX 3080 @ 32Gbps-TB3 (AORUS Gaming Box) + Win10 20H2  

RSS

Micsco2018
(@micsco2018)

I started playing around egpu in 2018 when I bought my first enclosure - AORUS Gaming Box with GTX 1080. It was great to see such a great bump in gaming performance for MacBook, and it become my favorite hardware. The 1080 Gaming box is smaller and very easy to carry around. A few days ago I upgrade the enclosure to the latest RTX 3080 gaming box.

System specs:

2018 15" MacBook Pro - i7-8850H/Radeon Pro 560X dGPU/16GB RAM/512GB SSD

eGPU hardware:

Gigabyte  AORUS Gaming Box  +  RTX 3080  + 0.8m Thunderbolt 3 cable + Dell 2515h

Hardware pictures:

Installation steps:

I used the 1080 aorus gaming box before and that was a very simple plug-and-play. I mean, any time, booting with the egpu plugged/plug in while choosing the system/plug in when windows logo on the screen/plug in after logging into the system. It all worked. There were some occasions when I reinstall the system and then the egpu cannot be recognized immediately. Usually it only take a while and then it come back to normal.

I thought 3080 Box should be the same, but it somehow turned out different.

When booting with the egpu plugged, or when choosing the system, or during windows logo on the screen, it has around 60% chance running into BSOD, and the egpu fan goes to full speed and making a lot of noise. For plugging after the system is fully loaded, the BSOD chance dropped a little bit, but still exist.

Benchmarks:

The benchmarks are normal compared to the previous 3080 builds on the forum. The cpu maybe a small bottleneck for the egpu. The fps for Red Dead Redemption 2 is around 45-50. Timespy benchmark is around 10000-11000

Comments