Setup & Software Discussions
2019 16" MacBook Pro (RP5300M) [9th,6C,H] + RTX 2080 Super @ 32Gbps-TB3 (Sonnet ...

2019 16" MacBook Pro (RP5300M) [9th,6C,H] + RTX 2080 Super @ 32Gbps-TB3 (Sonnet Breakaway 550) + Win10 [tsygna]  

RSS

tsygna
(@tsygna)

Pleased to report everything works now - running an Nvidia RTX 2080 super eGPU with bootcamp Windows 10 on my new 16" MBP. I have this setup because I want to play with Valve Index VR but I very much prefer Macs and MacOS. The new 16" MBPs handle graphics and most apps on the Mac side very well (except heavy gaming), so I only need a superior graphics solutions on the Windows side for VR.

It was pretty painless and straight-forward. It took me probably 10 hours or trouble-shooting, but that's because I am brand new to this and there isn't that much information regarding eGPUs with the new 16" MBPs yet. It went smoothly and should take you much less time. It didn't require any special third party drivers or specific versions of Windows 10. I used bootcamp to download the latest version of Windows 10, installed through bootcamp, ran auto-updates when Windows booted, and downloaded the latest graphics drivers directly from nVidia's website.

Let me know if you have any questions and I can try my best to help from my own experience.

Benchmarks photos:

Geekbench 5 2080 Super
3dMark Time Spy 1.0
Unigine Heaven Benchmark 4.0

This topic was modified 2 weeks ago

16" MBP 2019: i7 6-cores, dGPU Radeon 5300M, 16GB RAM
eGPU: Gigabyte Nvidia 2080 Super enclosed in Sonnet eGFX Breakaway Box 550

itsage liked
ReplyQuote
Rycco
(@rycco)
Reputable Member

Nice setup! The images aren't showing up. Let me ask you, are you plugging the eGPU before booting or hot plugging after Windows is fully loaded?

mid-2017 15" Macbook Pro RP555 + [email protected] (Mantiz Venus) + macOS & Win10

ReplyQuote
tsygna
(@tsygna)

@rycco

Photos are fixed now, see above.