2012 14" HP Elitebook 8470P + [email protected] (EXP GDC 8.5c) + Win10 [Dub Monster]  

RSS

(@dub_monster)
July 31, 2018 4:17 pm  

First of all, i'm not good at typing shortly, this text is bit long but hold tight.

Hello, I just got my eGPU running, it's bit work in progress as i have set up clover to patch DSDT without using test mode on Windows, also i need to make enclosure for this and get better GPU someday!

My laptop what i'm using is:
-Elitebook 8470P with i5-3320M
-8GB of DDR3 RAM
-128GB SSD
-1600x900 14" screen (external is 24" 1080P HP 24o monitor)
-iGPU HD 4000
-Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

eGPU
: Sapphire ATi RADEON HD 4890 with slight overclock (core at 865 Mhz)
EXP GDC Beast 8.5c
Chieftec GPS-500A8
Here is some pictures of my PSU and GPU i use. Also GPU-Z pic is here!.. There is also small bonus of what happens when you mess up with Windows too much (that SrtTrail error)

Installation Steps: First of all, check all power lines and reseat GPU to ensure it's properly on it's place! I had to set PSU to be always on because it's easier to time it properly on boot, i can always shut the PSU off from back when i don't need it so yeah..

On my laptop when i plugged the GPU first time, i did it when the system was running and left it for a while to download drivers and think, then i came back and decided to give it a cold boot. I shut down the laptop and unplug data line cable, then waited for a while until all lights went off. Time to hit power button and wait until i see HP logo, then it's was time to plug the data line, if i have it on boot the laptop refuses to boot at all and delay switch on adapted does nothing to help. ALRIGHT, i got it to Windows, GPU hooked to external monitor what shows nothing at all. I opened device manager and found the GPU gives error 12, i googled "eGPU error 12 fix" (DSDT patch)and followed the instructions (@nando4 made the guide on this same page). I run this with Windows test mode on.