2015 HP EliteDesk 800 G2 Mini [6th,4C,T] + RX 580 @ 32Gbps-M2 (ADT-Link R43SL) +...

Notifications
Clear all

2015 HP EliteDesk 800 G2 Mini [6th,4C,T] + RX 580 @ 32Gbps-M2 (ADT-Link R43SL) + Win10 // Ultra SFF eGPU build attempt  

RSS

Dashton Peccia
(@dashton_peccia)

This is my first attempt at creating an ultra small form factor gaming PC, currently it is a mess as I am still trying to diagnose issues with the build (there seem to be some severe performance issues).  

System specs: 

HP EliteDesk 800 G2 Mini -- Intel HD Graphics 530 iGPU / 32GB DDR4 RAM / 500GB WD BLUE SATA SSD

eGPU Hardware:

ADT-Link R43SL + RX 580 + KDM Power 500 WATT PSU (Jumper on the 24 Pin connector) + 24" 1080p Samsung Curved Monitor

Hardware Pictures:  

Apologize for the sloppiness / poor lighting.  I plan on cleaning this build up after I solve the issues with performance. 

Installation Steps:

Plugged in the ADT-Link R43SL to the m.2 slot, connected the power cable to the ADT-Link and the power cables to the GPU.  Jumped the 24 pin mobo connector on the PSU. Turned on the PSU, Saphire RX 580 light comes on.  Started the PC and the eGPU setup was immediately detected --> Installed drivers and was done.

Benchmarks: 

I will update this with more later today once I can test, also sorry for the terrible image quality.  I was in a rush this morning and didn't even have time to screencap and email it to myself -- 

Comments:

The test results for the Unigine Heaven benchmark seemed quite low to me.  I'm not sure if it's normal or not, as this is my first run on the Unigine benchmark, but there seemed to be quite a bit of stutter and as you can see the frame-rate dropped to 14.9 FPS at times.  

Things that I will try once I get home:

• BIOS update if needed *There was a bios update available, downloaded and installed*
  • Check to ensure that the benchmark / games aren't defaulting to the iGPU (disable the iGPU device)