mid-2012 15" MacBook Pro GT650M + [email protected] (AKiTiO Thunder2) + macOS10.12 & Win10 [Kyrio]^  

RSS

Kyrio
(@kyrio)
August 18, 2017 10:06 am  

I've been enjoying this setup since February 2017 but upon reinstalling Windows in August 2017, I noticed the installation process for Windows changed and thus wanted to share my experience with the community. My Windows guide will be a little more detailed than the others'.

First, macOS installation is very easy - I defer to ozzy's guide.
Second, Windows installation is quite a bit more complicated. For a good overview (including hardware setup), I suggest to have a look at enjoy's guide.

How to install Windows 10 (detailed & contemporary)

1. Boot into OS X without your eGPU attached and install Win10 via Bootcamp assistant.
  2. When you boot into Win10, install Bootcamp tools, update the system to latest revision. Reboot.
  3. Now is the time to make a recovery point! If there's an error preventing that, try the How to fix Windows 10 recovery section below and then return here.
  4. Disable any AV software (including Windows Defender) or add exceptions for Nando's DIY eGPU Setup 1.35:
    1. The installer.
    2. The installation directory (by default, C:\eGPU\*).
    3. V:\devcon\mkdevcon.
  5. Install eGPU Setup 1.35 as per supplied instructions. Reboot and verify that you can see the boot menu.
  6. Download the latest possible NVidia driver (should support both dGPU and eGPU). Don't install it yet.
  7. Now is the time to make another recovery point!
  8. Next, power on and plug-in your eGPU (including external monitor), and reboot immediately. Warning: at this point, booting can take several (maybe up to 10) attempts. If you really can't boot into Windows again, forcibly shutdown your computer, disconnect external monitor from your eGPU (not the eGPU from the computer!) and try again.