Setup & Software Discussions
RX480 with EXP GDC v8 - periodic atikmpag.sys bluescreen

RX480 with EXP GDC v8 - periodic atikmpag.sys bluescreen  

RSS

beantony
(@beantony)

Hi,

I've been using eGPU for almost three months and constantly experiencing bluescreen with my eGPU. The bluescreen said that windows has problem with atikmpag.sys module, and it said that windows trying to reach the graphic - but it was not responding.

I'm using lenovo z480 laptop (Win 7 64-bit, i7-3612QM, 8GB RAM) with EXP GDC v8 with Sapphire RX480 attached (Corsair PSU). I've tried to set the pci to Gen1 hoping for better stability, but nothing changed, the bluescreen is still there. I've also tried several version of AMD Crimson drivers, no luck at all.

Anyone can help me on this? Maybe there's any setting that I can set in egpu config? Thanks.

Regards,

Tony

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
Plastixx
(@plastixx)
Trusted Member

Have you tried under-clocking the card? I was thinking about buying a 480 to replace my 960. While researching which card to buy I came across quite a few complaints about the Sapphire NITRO cards crashing at stock speeds. Just google "sapphire nitro 480 crashing".

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
Yukikaze
(@yukikaze)
Prominent Member Moderator

Does it crash at idle (the desktop) or while under load? If it crashes on the desktop, but NOT under load, try using a utility called ClockBlocker. It will prevent your card from dropping to idle clocks and it helps people who are running into this problem with idle AMD cards (of course, it will raise your idle power consumption, but that's the lesser of two evils here).

My eGPU Zoo - Link to my Implementations.
Want to output [email protected] out of an old system on the cheap? Read here.