Enclosure & Hardware Discussions
2019 15" MacBook Pro + Razer Core X (Vega 64 inside) : which MBP's Thunderbolt 3...

[Solved] 2019 15" MacBook Pro + Razer Core X (Vega 64 inside) : which MBP's Thunderbolt 3 port for best performances ?  

RSS

Nadstaky
(@nadstaky)

Hello,

First of all I'm new to eGpus...

Got a mid-2019 MacBook Pro (15", 2.3GHz Core I9, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, Radeon 560X). I've purchased a Razor Core X and a Vega 64 (Asus ROG RX) in order to play modern games under Windows 10 1903 (BootCamp).
I've followed guides fount here to make the eGpu work fine under Windows 10 :
- Use BootCamp to install Windows 10 1903 (I didn't install any updates, because if I do so after it's impossible to get the Vega 64 working).
- In Safe Mode, I've used DDU to uninstall the AMD driver, then I've installed the latest version available on bootcampdrivers.com.
-No tweaks needed, works right out of the box under Mojave 10.14.6 and Windows 10 (I always leave the eGpu On).
-I have an external Samsung PCI-Express SSD and a dock (3 USB 3 ports, Ethernet 1000... ) plugged in the 2 right side ports.
- I do not have (and do not want) an external display.

For now, I've connected the Thunderbolt 3 cable (the one that came with the Razor Core X) on the left side of my MBP.

Let's start benchmarking : Unigine Heaven with all options set to max. Here is my problem :

I've seen many YouTube videos where people with a 15" MBP, the same eGpu and Vega 64, can get average FPS up to 60-75 FPS (they set everything to max like me).
My average FPS is 40-55 (under Mojave and Win10).

My question is : what's going on with my gear ? Could you help me please optimize this ? Why a so low framerate ? Should I plug the eGpu on the right Thunderbolt 3 ports ?

I thank you vey much for your help.

Best,

Nad

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
itsage
(@itsage)
Famed Member Admin