Notifications
Clear all

Mac mini 2018 - Thermal management / Cooling solutions  

of  15
  RSS

expensivefruit
(@expensivefruit)
Eminent Member

@danhc interesting find. In that case, may it be worth investigating some kind of DIY solution using a normal fan externally connected to some kind of makeshift power supply? I'm not an electrician or that good at DIY (adding the RAM in the mini will be my limit), so unless there's a plug and play solution ready on the market, how would one go about this?

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
DanHC
(@danhc)
Eminent Member

@expensivefruit

I think adding ram is much easier than this..

The difficult part to exhaust fan trick is when we want elegant to it.... I mean if you get these  then seal it off with the Mac Mini with duck tape.... it's done.

To make it a viable setup, I would invest on making a perfect seal that fits perfectly to Mac Mini's exhaust vent... I will try measure it when I get mine.... then I will make that rubber seal connected to something like this 

Then I can plug this vent into any kind of gigantic fan to suck the shit out of the Mac Mini... don't worry I have three years of apple care for that.

Or... you can just plug this into mac mini exhaust vent LOL

Disclaimer: Do this at your own risk, I am not responsible for your damaged Mac Minis, in particular, parts fell off due to strong winds

2013 15" MacBook Pro (GT750M) [4th,4C,H] + RX Vega FE @ 16Gbps-TB2>TB3 (Sonnet Breakaway 650) + Win10 [build link]  

ReplyQuote
expensivefruit
(@expensivefruit)
Eminent Member

@mac_editor would you therefore be inclined to say that one could use the mac mini (in my case, for gaming, video rendering and audio projects) on a regular basis and still expect a reasonable length of life from the unit (say 4 to 5 years), even if it running consistently in the 80s, possibly 90s?