Enclosure & Hardware Discussions
Need help with cable setup! (Mac mini 20...

Need help with cable setup! (Mac mini 2018, eGPU, 4k monitor)  

RSS

jpodcaster
(@jpodcaster)
Nov 17, 2018 11:35 pm  

Hi all,

I'm an eGPU newbie and need help with the cabling setup. I have the following:

The monitor has one USB-C input (currently connected to the Mini via a Thunderbolt 3 cable, sans eGPU), one Display Port (4k at 60) and 1 HDMI connector.

The Sonnet has one USB-C/T3 on the box and 3 Display Ports on the Vega 56 card.

So to maximize the speed and quality of my setup what cables go where? Sorry if that's a stupid question!!

Jools

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
theitsage
(@itsage)
Famed Member Admin
Nov 18, 2018 3:13 am  

@jpodcaster Welcome aboard! The arrangement for best performance is to run the eGPU directly to your monitor.

Mac mini <-> Thunderbolt 3 cable <-> RX Vega 56 eGPU <-> DisplayPort cable <-> Asus MX27uc monitor

Best ultrabooks for eGPU use

eGPU enclosure buying guide

94 external GPU build guides

ReplyQuote
jpodcaster
(@jpodcaster)
Nov 18, 2018 3:25 am  

Thanks @theitsage ... I eventually figured it out and ran down to Best Buy to pick up a Display Port cable.

Plugged in the cables as you suggested above and it works like a charm! In Geekbench I get an OpenCL score of 140,227 compared to a little over 5,000 with the integrated Intel graphics.

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

theitsage liked
ReplyQuote
(@ralf_nobbe)
Nov 18, 2018 8:03 am  

Sorry to ask here.
Is the Display port better than HDMI ?

ReplyQuote
Eightarmedpet
(@eightarmedpet)
Noble Member

ReplyQuote
jpodcaster
(@jpodcaster)
Nov 18, 2018 8:39 am  

I think yes if you want to use multiple monitors. But both DisplayPort and the newer versions of HDMI support 60 fps at 4k as far as I know.

ReplyQuote
jpodcaster