Enclosure & Hardware Discussions
Performance Issue using Hyperdock for Keyboard and Mouse whilst using the Razer ...

Performance Issue using Hyperdock for Keyboard and Mouse whilst using the Razer Core X + GTX 1080 + MacBook Pro 2018 15inch i9 32GB 1TB on Windows 10 Pro (Bootcamp)  

RSS

(@dennis_kievits_elertan)

Dear Enthusiasts!

I have bought this laptop mostly for productivity work, but I have created a Bootcamp partition to play games on in my spare time. I figured it would be a great all-in-one solution.

I'm new to using USB-C and eGPU enclosures and I'm facing a weird issue that I can't really figure out on my own.

Whenever I sent input from either my mouse (clicking or moving) or keyboard (pressing the keys) to the laptop, my GTX 1080's utilization just massively drops, like there isn't enough bandwith for the eGPU to cooperate with the hyperdock I have plugged in.

I have tried to use the laptop's on-board trackpad and keyboard, and  that has no issues at all.

Here is a video that really shows the issue:

https://photos.app.goo.gl/hoxKXuceGM4tnySs8

Thanks a lot for the help!

- Elertan

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
joevt
(@joevt)
Honorable Member

What's a hyperdock?

Plug the mouse and keyboard into something else?

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote

A hyperdock is an accessorie that plugs into USB-C and lets me plug in 2 USB 3.0, 1 HDMI, 1 SD Card, Ethernet etc. I can't plug it into something else because my keyboard and mouse are USB type A and my laptop (MacBook Pro) only supports USB type C.

ReplyQuote
joevt
(@joevt)
Honorable Member