16' MBP Razer Core X Chroma RX 5700 XT Not Allowing full resolution

Notifications
Clear all

16' MBP Razer Core X Chroma RX 5700 XT Not Allowing full resolution  

RSS

Chris Fodge
(@chris_fodge)

Hello, 

I'm pretty new to using eGPUs. Recenetly bought a Core X Chroma and RX 5700 XT to use with a super Ultrawide 5120x1440 monitor. Everything connected fine except MacOS sees the highest resolution as 3840x1080 instead. I was able to use SwitchRezX to get the correct resolution but when I load up games they only see what MacOS is saying the max resolution is.

Am I missing something obvious that is preventing MacOS from seeing the full resolution on the monitor?

2019 16' MBP
Razer Core X Chroma
GB RX 5700 XT

ReplyQuote
Nicholas Hooper
(@nicholas_hooper)

@chris_fodge, Try this:

Open System Preferences from the  Apple menu in Mac OS X. Click onDisplay” Under the 'Display' tab, hold down the OPTION / ALT key while you press on the 'Scaled' button alongside Resolution to reveal all available screen resolution options for the display.

Worked for me in the past. It should show your resolution?

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
Chris Fodge
(@chris_fodge)

Done that, still only gives me 3840x1080 as highest resolution. 

2019 16' MBP
Razer Core X Chroma
GB RX 5700 XT

ReplyQuote
Nicholas Hooper
(@nicholas_hooper)

@chris_fodge, Hmmm. Sorry that didn't work. Only other solution I am thinking of is that this is not a Mac OS issue, but rather a Monitor issue i.e. is your monitor definitely outputting at that resolution? I.e. check settings?

Also, are you using HDMI or DP? and what slot are you connecting it to on the monitor? (your monitor may cap the res out of a certain port so might be worth changing the slot it goes into, or trying DP if you are using HDMI or HDMI if using DP)

This post was modified 11 months ago