Setup & Software Discussions
2014 mbp 15 no external monitor plugging into egpu box normal?

2014 mbp 15 no external monitor plugging into egpu box normal?  

RSS

dfphoto
(@dfphoto)
Eminent Member

Dear Readers,

I'm fairly new to this world, OSX 10.13.6 on an older 2014 MBP 15 with built in nvidia m750 card. I have an external aorus gaming box RX580 using the apple TB3/2 adapter. I use purge-wrangler, nvda-wrangler and get egpu for my apps, and other than compressor, the setup seems to work. Yesterday I brought my 23" Benq monitor out and with the internal hdmi it works well, but if I try to connect to the gaming box, I cannot see anything only black screens, also when I unplug the hdmi it seems to crash/logs me out. 

I'm not sure if I missed a post where some of you more intelligent people warn against this behavior but I could not find via the search function. I recently read a post where the reader states the ti82 is not needed so I'm going to test that once I finish this post, but wondering if anyone can shed light on the issue... If not for coremelt slicex I could run the system without purge-nvda but without it I cannot turn the internal monitor off otherwise I get a crash on compressor where the software thinks my clamshell is closed and the coremelt plugin crashes rendering... Very odd...Thanks for the help in advance.

Pending: 2014 macbook pro Nvidia 750 Gigabyte RX580 gaming box OSX 10.13.6 my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
Topic Tags
sabrefv
(@sabrefv)
Eminent Member

I'm not a MacOS expert at all. In my experience with Windows and bootcamp you cant have the integrated gpu (igpu like intel Iris), Dedicated GPU (dGPU maybe that's your Nvidia m750) and egpu (external GPU such as the RX580 in the Aorus gaming box) at the same time.
Typically In my experience3 you need to disable the dgpu for the egpu to work.