Setup & Software Discussions
2019 2.3 i9 MacBook Pro + internal 560x + External Razer Core RX 5700 XT Worse P...

2019 2.3 i9 MacBook Pro + internal 560x + External Razer Core RX 5700 XT Worse Performance  

RSS

(@brett_eichenberger)

I'm new to the world of egpus. I've installed a 5700 XT into a Razer Core and connected it to my 2019 2.3i9 with the Catalina 15.1 Beta 2 installed. I expected to see modest 25% gains or more using Final Cut Pro X or Davinci Resolve 16.1 but my render times are SLOWER by about 25% when using the egpu. I'm going crazy trying to figure out why. Any insight would be awesome. 

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
TheMegaTB
(@themegatb)

@brett_eichenberger

As far as I know they are currently working on rewriting the rendering logic based on Metal for better performance. A few days ago the product page read “Coming soon”. Given that this implementation as well as the drivers for the Navi cards are in their infancy performance might be suboptimal but should improve with further Betas.

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
joevt
(@joevt)
Prominent Member

@brett_eichenberger You're saying the 5700XT has crappier compute than internal 560X? I've read that the 5700XT is not the best for compute but I don't know how it compares with all other cards.

Mac mini (2018), Mac Pro (Early 2008), MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015), GA-Z170X-Gaming 7, Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 580 8GB GDDR5, Sonnet Echo Express III-D, Trebleet Thunderbolt 3 to NVMe M.2 case

ReplyQuote
ttamnogard
(@ttamnogard)
Trusted Member

@brett_eichenberger

this beta release is the first iteration of the Apple usable driver for the 5700xt... do you have the software set to prefer the GPU? (I don't know if this is needed anymore)Can you verify the GPU is running (activity monitor->Cmd 4)?