how to connect razer core x to MBP 2013 via TB2

Notifications
Clear all

how to connect razer core x to MBP 2013 via TB2  

RSS

(@ehsan_aliverdi)

I am new to this topic, I got Razer Core x with MSI Radeon RX580. My Device is MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Late 2013). my OS is 10.13.6 (17G66) and All my cables are apple original.

The problem is i have been following tutorials on how to connect eGPU to old Laptop. I followed so many tutorial mainly this. but i am unable to get the device working. the main issue is when eGPU connects nothing happens( the mac shows no device connected on thunderbolt ) no device is shown in PCI section too.  can someone please guide me in right direction to solve this issue. i have been struggling on the web for last two days.

Port:

Link Status: 0x7

Speed: Up to 20 Gb/s x1

Current Link Width: 0x1

Receptacle: 1

Link Controller Firmware Version: 0.11.0

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
Topic Tags
itsage
(@itsage)
Illustrious Member Admin

@ehsan_aliverdi Do you have another Thunderbolt device to test whether the Thunderbolt cable and Thunderbolt 2 ports on MacBook Pro are functional?

external graphics card builds
best laptops for external GPU
eGPU enclosure buyer's guide

ReplyQuote
(@ehsan_aliverdi)

@itsage

Hi 

I dont have windows based thunderbolt device.  Bet I have tried with two different mac book pro , they both show no device connected. 

When I connect razor core x to my mobile(I know it is stupid) it starts changing.

Thunderbolt 2 cable are brand new from apple. And thunderbolt 2 to thunderbolt 3 is genuine (second hand )

Maybe answer to the following questions help me.

What should happen after connecting  razer core x via adapter to old MBP?

does the os shows it as unsupported device?

Should the fan on razer core x starts to spin?

Should the graphics card fan starts to spin?