iMac 21,5-inch 4K, what gear should I buy?

Notifications
Clear all

iMac 21,5-inch 4K, what gear should I buy?  

of  2
  RSS

AleMonti
(@alemonti)

Hello, newbie here.

I've read through the Beginner's External Graphics Card Setup Guide for Mac as well as a few online articles but there's not a lot of build information about my system.

I'm running a Late 2015 21,5-inch 4K iMac equipped with an i7-5775R and 16GB of 1867MHz DDR3 ram on OS X 10.15.7 (if it proves to be worth I'll upgrade to Big Sur). I have no external monitor.

The plan is to use a TB3 box paired with a TB3 to TB2 adapter so that if I ever upgrade my computer I can still use it in the future, but I have no idea which card to choose.

I usually do editing work with Premiere/Photoshop, CAD on a VM, and sometimes play games. I don't need a super-powerful GPU, but something that will pair well with my system and improve general overall graphics performance.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
Topic Tags
Mini i5
(@mini-i5)
Prominent Member

@alemonti

Your VM software might not utilize an external graphics card.

For natively run apps, maybe try out a returnable RX 5500 XT or RX 580 for a week to gauge the performance benefit looping back to the internal display.  You’ll want an 8GB card. 

Or you might wait 2-3 months and try out the upcoming RX 6700 XT

2018 Mac Mini [8th,6C,B] + RX Vega 56 @ 32Gbps-TB3 (Sonnet Breakaway 650) + macOS 11.1 & Win10 [build link]  

Nick Kay liked
ReplyQuote
Nick Kay
(@nick_kay)
Eminent Member

@mini-i5, Just curious but what makes you think the RX 6700 XT will have Mac drivers?

2018 i7 Mac Mini | Sonnet eGFX Breakaway Box 550 | XFX 5700 XT 8GB

ReplyQuote
Mini i5
(@mini-i5)
Prominent Member

@nick_kay