Is my TB2 2013 MacBook Pro compatible with Thunderbolt 3? How?

Notifications
Clear all

Is my TB2 2013 MacBook Pro compatible with Thunderbolt 3? How?  

RSS

zejohn
(@zejohn)

Hi all,

I'm new to the egpu game. I'm looking to add a thunderbolt 3 box to my thunderbolt 2 computer. For reference, I have the mid-2014 2.5GHz MBP.

I looked at itsage guide on the Sonnet Breakaway Box 350 which is a TB3 egpu box and he plugged it into his TB2 trash can. How did he do it? As far as I can tell, the TB3 to TB2 dongles don't work backward (at least, the reviews on Apple's official dongle say that the bi-directional compatibility feature doesn't actually work).

tl;dr: 1) Can I plug a TB3 egpu box into my TB2 computer with reduced 20gbps speeds? 2) What dongle do I use that has this bi-directional compatibility?

Thanks!

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
itsage
(@itsage)
Founder Admin

The Apple Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) to Thunderbolt is bidirectional. I've tested it on multiple Macs spanning all 3 Thunderbolt generations.

Forward: 2013 Mac Pro « » TB cable « » TB3-TB adapter « » TB3 enclosure

Backward: 2016 MacBook Pro « » TB3-TB adapter « » TB cable « » TB2 enclosure

LinkedIn | Twitter | Facebook | Youtube | Instagram

external graphics card builds
best laptops for external GPU
eGPU enclosure buyer's guide

2021 13" ASUS ROG Flow X13 (RTX3050Ti) [R5K,8C,H] + RTX 3080 @ 64Gbps-XG (XG Mobile) + Win10 20H2 [build link]  

ReplyQuote
zejohn
(@zejohn)

Okay great, and can you speak a bit to whether you'd advise daisychaining these devices? I just bought a Atikio Thunderbay that sets up 4 drives in a RAID array. I'd love to just plug in one cable for both that enclosure and the eGPU.

So it'd be: 2014mbp <-> TB2 Cable <-> TB2 to TB3 adaptor <-> eGPU box <-> (mDP to 4k 60hz monitor) <-> TB3 to TB2 <-> TB2 Cable <-> RAID array