Notifications
Clear all

MacBook pro 2014 15" GT750m not detecting Akitio Node in Windows 10  

of  3
  RSS

j_low
(@j_low)

Hi,

I am very new to egpu setup and has recently bought an Akitio node with Gtx 1070. It is running through apple thunderbolt 3 to thunderbolt 2 adapter.

I want to run this setup in bootcamp, but the thunderbolt device is not detected by windows.

I have tried both turning on the egpu while booting into windows and hot plug method, but it still would not work. The thunderbolt device is still not detected even after installing drivers from intel,  https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/23742/Thunderbolt-Intel-Thunderbolt-driver.

Does anyone know how to make windows detect akitio node in windows 10?

Your help is much appreciated. Thank you.

Image 2

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
nando4
(@nando4)
Noble Member Admin

See the detection techniques used at https://egpu.io/forums/mac-setup/mbp-egpu-detection-issues/ including running 'automated-egpu.sh -a' in macOS prior to booting Windows.

eGPU Setup 1.35    •    eGPU Port Bandwidth Reference Table

2015 15" Dell Precision 7510 (Q M1000M) [6th,4C,H] + GTX 1080 Ti @32Gbps-M2 (ADT-Link R43SG) + Win10 1803 [build link]  

ReplyQuote
j_low
(@j_low)

Hi nando4,

I have tried running 'automated-egpu.sh -a' in macOS and boot using the following sequence.

1. Boot into MacOS with no eGPU connected

2. Run the automate eGPU script with the -a flag.

3. Shutdown

4. Unplug the power to the eGPU THEN plug the TB cable into the Mac. 

5. Boot to the boot manager screen

6. When the mouse becomes free to move (takes around 5 seconds) plug the power into the eGPU

7. if it doesn't freeze continue to boot into Windows.

But the egpu still could not be detected. There is still no thunderbolt device appear in system devices. Could you please help me? Thank you in advance