Notifications
Clear all

Need Help with iMac 5k 27" Late 2013 and Akitio Node with Asus GTX 1050Ti  

RSS

Zeus
 Zeus
(@zeus)

Hello. I am new to most of this. To keep it simple, this is what I have:

- Apple iMac 5k 27" Late 2013 (macOS High Sierra 10.13.2)

- Akitio Node with Asus GTX 1050Ti 4GB in it

- TB3-->TB2 Adapter and Apple Thunderbolt 2 Cable connecting iMac and Akitio Node

- HP 22xi Monitor, connected to Akitio Node with HDMI Cable

So I currently have everything working but one problem. The HP 22xi has a black screen for the whole time. In System Information, the GTX 1050Ti is present, and it shows that it is connected to the HP 22xi, and that the Nvidia GT 755M (internal gpu) is connected to the iMac. Everything seems right, but the HP 22xi monitor has a black screen. 

The monitor does indicate that it is connected via HDMI, but it's screen in black.

Please help me. Thanks in advance.

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
DANgerous25
(@danfalconar)
Estimable Member

Hi there, what eGPU software have you installed? Did you follow the instructions (specifically for the workaround) as per this post?

If everything is showing as connected in System Report then try doing a log off then log on (do not reboot) and the magic might happen. Don't forget to make your external monitor your primary display in System Preferences -> Displays as well.

2017 27" iMac Pro (Vega64) [7th,10C,W] + GTX 1080 Ti @ 32Gbps-TB3 (AKiTiO Node) + macOS 10.13.2 [build link]  

ReplyQuote
Zeus
 Zeus
(@zeus)

Hello again. Thanks for your reply. 

Yes, I have already followed the instructions in the post linked. I have tried logging off and logging back in. The external display is already set as the primary display. I am using the Nvidia web driver, and the eGpu has already recognized the 1050Ti.