Notifications
Clear all

New eGPU user - Mac mini - Razer Core X Chroma & Radeon Pro W5700 not working  

of  2
  RSS

Genesis27
(@genesis27)

Hi,

I'm new to eGPU's and wish I had found this site before buying hardware! Oh well, hoping someone can help me get this setup and working 🙂

So my set up is a 6 core 17 mac mini (Catalina 10.15.5) with a Samsung C34J79X widescreen monitor. I have a TB3 cable to the Chroma and then a mini DP cable to DP port on the monitor. However, when switching to DisplayPort all I get is a black screen. I been through and checked the card in the eGPU and all the cable connections. So I'm a bit lost as to what to try next. Any help would be appreciated. Many thanks, Mike  

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
hans-st.
(@hans-st)
Trusted Member

ReplyQuote
Genesis27
(@genesis27)

@hans-st, Radeon pro W5700

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
hans-st.
(@hans-st)
Trusted Member

@genesis27

Now I read it in your header - sorry.

Unfortunately I can not realy help - since the update to MacOS 10.15.5, am facing the same challenge with my RX 570.

Can you connect the Mac Mini via a HDMI cable directly to the monitor and restart the Mac Mini - without Chroma? That is what I am doing with my system. After loading Catalina I connect my eGPU and change to the previous connections. For me this action helps. Hope it helps for you too or at least directs you in the right direction. However, this workaround is not a solution.

Success

Now:    2018 Mac Mini (8th,6C,B) + RX 570 @ 32Gbps-TB3 (PowerColor Mini Pro) + macOS 10.15.4 & Win10 1909
Before: 2014 Mac Mini (4th,2C,U) + GTX 1050 Ti @ 16Gbps-TB2>TB3 (AKiTiO Node Lite) + Win10

2014 Mac Mini [4th,2C,U] + GTX 1050 Ti @ 16Gbps-TB2>TB3 (PowerColor Mini Pro) + Win10 1803 [build link]