Setup & Software Discussions
Newbie MacBook Pro 2014 Razer Core V1 RX580 TB2-3 problem

[Solved] Newbie MacBook Pro 2014 Razer Core V1 RX580 TB2-3 problem  

RSS

dfphoto
(@dfphoto)
Eminent Member

Hello group,

I'm a complete newbie, I bought a Razer Core V1 on ebay and a new MSI RX580 mk2 OC new I'm having problems figuring this egpu system out. I have a mid 2014 macbook pro with an Nvidia 750m built-in graphic card 2gb. I have an apple TB 2-3 adapter and a belkin TB3 cable... OSX 10.13.6 I'm running a TB2 cable from the computer to the apple TB2-3 adapter and plugging that TB2-3 adapter to the Razer.

I edit video which is the purpose of this system. I installed the card and plugged the unit in and nothing happened, no lights or fan. I have a multi meter and tried the 8 prongs but I am not seeing any voltage. I finally noticed there is an on/off switch but tried both and nothing.

Is this unit suppose to come on regardless of being connected to the computer. I tried chatting with Razer but they had to fwd me to a different person who needs to email the answer to me. If anyone can offer any advice I'd appreciate it.

Update: Overnight, I ran purgewrangler and enabled for nvidia internal AMD external and unlocked Ti82. I ordered a 2nd TB2-3 adapter, I have 2 TB2 cables already that work. I checked the system report and it says nothing is plugged in to my TB ports. I'm trying the purge nvidia script and I'm little stuck on what to select I chose "

NVIDIA eGPUs Disables only the internal NVIDIA GPU and sets the gmux to Intel GPU to enable OpenCL/GL acceleration and high performance with NVIDIA eGPUs with a combination of NVRAM + NVDA kernel extension patches." 

But it says command not found or nvidia web driver needs to be installed. Driving me crazy

This topic was modified 4 months ago

Pending: 2014 macbook pro Nvidia 750 Gigabyte RX580 gaming box OSX 10.13.6 my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
Eightarmedpet
(@eightarmedpet)
Noble Member