Newbie here with Radeon xr5700xt on a Razer Core X with a late 2013 iMac with Re...

Notifications
Clear all

Newbie here with Radeon xr5700xt on a Razer Core X with a late 2013 iMac with Retina display.  

RSS

Andy Hernandez
(@andy_hernandez)

Hi, I'm new here and now trying to use this setup. Seemed pretty easy when researched it but I don't see a huge difference in performance with the new card. I needed this card to bust up speed on video editing and graphics rendering. I did the wrangler purge and I can see my eGPU but I want to know how to bench market with my internal because in reality, I see no difference when trying to render a 3-minute video. Any help will be greatly appreciated. 

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
Mini i5
(@mini-i5)
Honorable Member

@andy_hernandez

You can use Activity Monitor to see if your eGPU is even being used by your video editing software.

https://support.apple.com/guide/activity-monitor/view-gpu-activity-actm9329b315/mac

What editing software are you running?  

Are you looping back to the iMac display? Or are you using an external display attached to your eGPU? 

2018 Mac Mini i5 / 6-core 3.0-4.1 Ghz / 32GB / 256GB / Intel UHD 630 / PowerColor Gaming Station / PowerColor dual-fan RX 5700 XT / Mac OS 10.15.6 Catalina / Windows 2004 😏 / Dual LG 27" 4K displays

ReplyQuote
Andy Hernandez
(@andy_hernandez)

@mini-i5, Hi! Thank you so much for getting back. It is looping back to the iMac and I am using FCPX. I can see it in final cut and select it but there is no change in performance. I spent over $700 on this setup to get my editing running smooth and faster but I don't know if I have set up correctly. I have a dummy HDMI Ghost plugged in the HDMI port on the graphics card but there is still 3 DisplayPort that is empty.