[SCRIPT] PurgeWrangler: AMD + NVIDIA eGPUs for all Thunderbolt Macs

Notifications
Clear all

[Solved] [SCRIPT] PurgeWrangler: AMD + NVIDIA eGPUs for all Thunderbolt Macs  

of  170
  RSS

editor4yourfilm
(@editor4yourfilm)

Sorry if this is obvious, but I am new to this online resource.   Has anyone used -or have any thoughts on- Purge Wrapper with iMac Pro with Mojave 10.14.1 to be used with an eGpu and 1080?  It can be used in Mojave, correct?

I see most of the people here used it with High Sierra.

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
philw
(@philw)
Trusted Member

@editor4yourfilm Sorry - no Nividia drivers for Mojave - hence the sticking to high Sierra. Long story 🙂

Given up on all my Macs...but successfully running: Gigabyte Designare Z390, Core i9-9900K, 64GB RAM, 2x Internal GTX 1080TI, 2x GTX 1070 eGPU (Sonnet eGFX)

2018 Gigabyte Z390 Designare (GTX1080TIx2) [9th,8C,K] + GTX 1070 @ 32Gbps-TB3 (Sonnet Breakaway 350) + Win10 [build link]  

ReplyQuote
dfphoto
(@dfphoto)
Eminent Member

Wanted to say thank you to Mac_editor for his software. It is amazing and now my old 2014 Nvidia based macbook pro with a gigabyte RX580 box is working perfectly. I see a nice 30% boost in FCPX,  capture one pro,  and I see some boost in photoshop and Lightroom.... I did a security update in osx 10.13.6 and your software recognized it and asked if I wanted to reinstall your software and it worked (inside terminal). On my particular setup I learned not to use the Purge-nvidia (for laziness) although using it did increase the processing power of the RX580 about 10-15% but it also disabled the screen brightness tool and when not using the RX580 the internal IRIS video card made the computer fan's kick on and ran very hot. In the semi-stock mode I'm in (purge-wrangler and gpu-wrangler-sorry forgot the name) I get a boost and a more normal apple computer. Thanks, David