eGPU.io Community
MacBook pro late 2011

MacBook pro late 2011  

RSS

andy588tt
(@andy588tt)

Hi Everyone

This is my first post so sorry for the silly questions. My Macbook pro has thunderbolt running at 10gbps I want to add an external graphics card to speed up adobe premier video using cuda I have a new Akitio 2 but not sure about the video card. I could get the Evga Nvidia Gforce 980TI 6GB but the bottleneck is the slow thunderbolt port what would be the ideal card from Nvidia.

Regards

Andy 

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
deplomb
(@deplomb)
Trusted Member

Hi Andy,

Welcome to the club 🙂
I'm using the mid 2012 15" MBP with thunderbolt 1 and the Akitio thunder 2 and a GTX 970.
I gained significant speed for apps who are capable of using the gpu,
although I have no experience yet with adobe.

You may want to have a look at the benchmarks of other users with the same setup as the one you are thinking about
and do the benchmark with the same settings on your current machine.

If you do some research in the forum I'm pretty optimistic you'll find some enlightening answers about adobe premiere as well.
Keep an eye on these threads
https://egpu.io/forums/pro-applications/
or do a search for adobe / premiere, you'll most certainly find plenty of informations.

Best Regards
Jörg

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
andy588tt
(@andy588tt)

Hi Jorg

Thank you for your reply and the welcome to the club 

Andy

ReplyQuote
andy588tt
(@andy588tt)

Hi Jorg