2015 MacBook Pro suddenly unresponsive[SOLVED]  

meagloth
(@meagloth)
February 7, 2018 2:51 am  

My computer: a 15″ 2015 MacBook Pro that I use for games and school. It’s is bootcamped to windows 10 and I play games on it with an external graphics card; a gtx1050ti in an akitio node through a TB2->TB3 adaptor. In order to have the 1050 accelerate the native display I boot to a USB with magic code in it: an ‘EFI boot. I have been using this setup happily for many months with relatively few problems.

The situation: Just this evening I let my computer restart into windows so I could play some games. I was in OSX and everything was running fine. This restart was without my eGPU of flash drive plugged in(though I may have absentmindedly hotplugged one or both before it finished restarting) however, instead of booting into windows as normal, I got a dark blue field with a mouse cursor. I was able to move the mouse but there where no icons in the screen. Not to concerned (sometimes it does funny things; I’ve never had a serious problem) I held the power button to restart. I believe at this point the eGPU was plugged in(not sure). The computer powered off as I expected but will not turn back on. There is no fan, no boot noise, and the trackpad does not click. The MagSafe charger flashed green when first plugged in and then turns amber. I tried doing a SMC reset by holding shift+control+option+power for 10 second the simultaneously releasing them. As I release the keys the charger flashed green, and resets to amber after about a second. The computer will still not respond.

I am at a total loss. Please help.

Edited: 2 weeks  ago

ReplyQuote
theitsage
(@itsage)
Noble Member Admin
February 7, 2018 2:48 pm