Gigabyte RTX 2070 Gaming Box Problems Galore

Notifications
Clear all

Gigabyte RTX 2070 Gaming Box Problems Galore  

RSS

joshjames1234
(@joshjames1234)

Hi everyone,

I’ve been having issues getting my Gigabyte RTX 2070 Gaming Box to be detected on my Samsung Galaxy Book Ion. I have probably spent over 15 hours trying everything, and I’m no closer to success. I hope you can help!

Here are the facts:

1. The RTX 2070 Gaming Box works fine on other laptops nearby (detected and shows up in task manager / system info), including on a Dell G7 and a 2017 MacBook Pro.
    • On my Ion, the most I ever see/hear is just the PSU fan spinning. My Ion says it is “plugged in”, but the battery drains as if it isn’t. The lights on the Gaming Box never come on. So, I use the included wall charger while I try everything.
  2. My Galaxy Book Ion works with other eGPUs. I’ve been using the Sonnet Breakaway Puck RX 560 for 6 months with no issues. Literally plug and play.
    • Relevant specs:
      • Galaxy Book Ion 15”
      • 24 GB RAM (2666 MHz)
      • Intel i7-10510u
      • Windows 10 (Home): 20H2 (really trying to avoid a fresh reinstall of W10, which has extremely limited success anyway according to these forums)
      • Single Thunderbolt 3 port
      • Intel UHD graphics (no NVidia drivers here…downloading their software leads to this):

1. What I’ve tried (in general):
    1. Hot-plugging the device ad nauseum, at every point in the boot process (including when there are spinning dots).
    2. Installing every type (DCH, Legacy, etc) of Intel TB3 driver.
    3. At the Samsung BIOS menu, I see only extremely limited options. I see nothing about enabling an eGPU or disabling TB3 security.
    4. Disabling iGPU (Intel UHD graphics).
    5. Resetting the computer a million times at every point of the uninstall/install/erase process.

Here’s what I see on my end: