Setup & Software Discussions
HELP with RX 580 eGPU on MacBook Pro

HELP with RX 580 eGPU on MacBook Pro  

RSS

Matthew92007
(@matthew92007)

I've been banging my head with this for around two months now and am just getting around to admitting defeat and asking for help.

I have a GIGABYTE RX 580 Gaming Box paired with a 2018 MacBook Pro 13" Touch Bar. Under macOS, it works beautifully, but under Windows, it's a completely different story.

What I've done so far:
- Installed Windows via Bootcamp
- Used DDU to uninstall preinstalled drivers, used drivers from bootcampdrivers.com
- installed rEFInd, used apple_set_os.efi.
- Disabled the right side TB3 ports
- Disabled the FaceTime HD camera.
I don't think I've missed anything.

IT STILL JUST WONT WORK, neither on internal or external display. I still haven't gotten a single thing to pop up on the external display, apart from one time on boot when it just mirrored the internal for ~5 seconds before blue screening. Sometimes AMD x Connect detects it, sometimes not, but 99% of the time, device manager just reports error 12. 

I'm basically defeated, does anybody have any Ideas as to how to just get this freaking eGPU to work in windows?

Thank you for your time!!
-Matthew

This topic was modified 6 months ago

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
Eightarmedpet
(@eightarmedpet)
Noble Member

Oh man, I feel your pain... I struggled with error 12 for over a year!
I'm sure you'll be able to get past it, if you're new to all this you're prob just missing one little detail... I assume you've been through all the similar builds in the guide section?
example.
IIRC apple_set_os is baked into the latest versions of rEFInd so you won't need that additional element.
I also had some luck with EFI boot loader which may work for you? More details in my builds... (I have a 2017 model so its slightly different).

2017 13" MacBook Pro Touch Bar