Notifications
Clear all

2018 MacBook Pro w/ Razer Core X & AMD Radeon RX Vega 56 Steam & CS:GO Issue  

of  3
  RSS

Schoubye
(@schoubye)

@nu_ninja

Thanks for responding so quickly. So far I've only managed to make my egpu work with Heaven... Won't work with Starcraft 2 or CSGO which are the only games I play. Strongly considering sending everything back and getting my money back.

Quick question. If I get a headless adapter thingy -- do I need a special display port for that then? On my iMac I only have USB-C and USB ports. And on my macbook pro, I only have USB-C ports. So, I'd need both the headless adapter and some kind of converter? Or does the headless adapter plug into a standard usb port? Sorry, I'm a complete newbie with this stuff. 

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
nu_ninja
(@nu_ninja)
Reputable Member

Sorry to hear that, for Starcraft did you try the method in this thread? It can be tricky to find the root app that you need to check the prefer eGPU checkbox on. For the headless adapter, it plugs into the display outputs (HDMI, etc.) on the egpu card so the card thinks an external display is plugged in.

Mid-2012 13" Macbook Pro (MacBookPro9,2) TB1 -> RX 460/560 (AKiTiO Node/Thunder2)
+ macOS 10.15+Win10 + Linux Mint 19.1

2012 13" MacBook Pro [3rd,2C,M] + RX 460 @ 10Gbps-TB1 (AKiTiO Thunder2) + macOS 10.14.4 [build link]  

ReplyQuote
Schoubye
(@schoubye)

@nu_ninja

Ah ok, I see. Thanks so much for the help. Will take a look at that thread and get one of those display thingies.

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
nu_ninja
(@nu_ninja)
Reputable Member

@pudgy

@schoubye