MacPro w/NVIDIA 1070/ Adobe Applications not Accessing eGPU

MacPro w/NVIDIA 1070/ Adobe Applications not Accessing eGPU  

RSS

spaghettibetty
(@spaghettibetty)

Hey there, 

I'm new to this. This forum is incredible, I've been following it for about a year and finally got an external gpu set up today!

Working with a MacPro late 2013 with 2X AMD Fire D700

Connected a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 to a Sonnet Breakaway 550
TB3–TB2 into the MacPro. 
2 Monitors set up using TB2 to Display Ports out of the MacPro

I first ran the PurgeWrangler script
Then downloaded and installed the webdriver.sh using homebrew
Then used fr34k's macOS-eGPU.sh (v0.2α) script

I'm on Mac OS 10.13.5 

My system report says its there, so I thought I was ok but when I run my adobe apps and check the performance they are still using the AMD D700's. 

How can I tell the computer to switch over to use another graphics card specifically when running adobe applications ( won't be rendering for a while but was hoping to still get to access the new GPU for other things) 

Also, should I bother with the NVIDIA 1070? I was under the impression Adobe's Suite runs a lot better on NVIDIA so I went that way but since AMD is more "supported" in the Mac world should I switch it out for an AMD? (open to suggestions, I think I got a little in over my head with this )

Thanks!

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
firestarter451f
(@firestarter451f)

@spaghettibetty have you tried changing the graphics processor in the Prefereces->Performance panel -> Graphics Processor Settings? (in photoshop) Does your eGPU card appears in those options?

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
spaghettibetty
(@spaghettibetty)