Enclosure & Hardware Discussions
Tyco Electronics 12V 20A CAD240121 - GDC Beast compatibility

Tyco Electronics 12V 20A CAD240121 - GDC Beast compatibility  

RSS

pietropistacchio
(@pietropistacchio)

Hi, I want to buy a gdc beast and i was searching for a more powerful alternative to the dell da-2. I found this tyco 20A adapter

It has an 8 pin connector but but i think the pinout is different from the dell.. am i correct? 
I also found the Mean Well Power Supply GST280A12 252W 12V, but it has a 6 pin connector; i'm not an expert but would it be possible to adapt it somehow? Thanks in advance!

This topic was modified 11 months ago

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
nando4
(@nando4)
Noble Member Admin

Tyco 20A adapter has a different pinout to a Dell DA-2. You could however use a 6P PCIe cable extender to cable between the Tyco 20A adapter and EXP GDC (ensure match the correct pins). You would however have no power management by the EXP GDC since it wouldn’t be able to power on/off the Tyco 20A.

Do note that the Dell DA-2 has been specced as 20A by some Taobao vendors. Mistake or does it have high headroom? No matter. Private testing confirms two Dell DA-2 units can reliable power up  6P+8P GPU. The first DA-2 powering the slot + 6P (150W). The second DA-2 powering 8P (150W) by using a 6P to 8P extender and jumperin the DA-2 on as described at:

https://egpu.io/forums/psu-cables/us3-dell-da-2-pcie-splitter/

eGPU Setup 1.35    •    eGPU Port Bandwidth Reference Table

ReplyQuote
pietropistacchio
(@pietropistacchio)

Private testing confirms two Dell DA-2 units can reliable power up  6P+8P GPU.

that sounds very good but, if it's feasible, i would like to explore all the possibilities to stay as compact/small as possible.

You would however have no power management by the EXP GDC since it wouldn't be able to power on/off the Tyco 20A.