Enclosure & Hardware Discussions
2012 MacMini / OS 10.13 – planning on adding a eGPU enclosure.

2012 MacMini / OS 10.13 – planning on adding a eGPU enclosure.  

RSS

MacBowtie
(@macbowtie)

Hi,

I have a 2012 MacMini (Quadcore 2.3GHz i7) and would like to add some more life to it, by adding an eGPU. Ultimately (maybe next year), I'll probably upgrade to a 2018 MacMini.
Currently, I'm running Mac OS 10.13.4 – though ideally, I'd like to move on to 10.14 Mojave at some point.

I mainly use the MacMini for editing/retouching (Lightroom and Photoshop), and also some 3d rendering in Cinema 4d (using Maxwell Render – which I believe only supports nVidia cards at the moment).
Ideally, I'd like to connect a 4k display – and maybe a secondary lower resolution display (though that's not that important at the moment)

I'm new to the world of eGPU's, but have some research the past few days. It seems like the Sonnet Breakaway 550 would be a good enclosure (I don't mind its size – I want something 'futureproof' if there is such a thing).

Also, I had a look at this build:
https://egpu.io/forums/builds/macmini-late2012-rx-58010gbps-tb2/

Do you think this would work? I guess going from a Sonnet 350 to a 550 shouldn't make much of a difference, right?
As long as I stick with OSX 10.13: Can I use an nVidia card instead of the RX580? (So it'd work with Maxwell Render). In the hope that there'll be an OSX 10.14 solution for nVidia at some point...

Also: Since I'd be using Thunderbolt 1: is it worthwhile spending money on a fast card? Or are there cheaper/slower cards that would be able to max out a TB1 connection? (After all, by the time I upgrade to a 2018 MacMini, there'll probably be better cards out again anyway).

Many thanks for your help!

This topic was modified 4 months ago

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
itsage
(@itsage)
Famed Member Admin