5600m in bootcamp will NOT work with VR (5500 worked). eGPU needed. Details insi...

Notifications
Clear all

5600m in bootcamp will NOT work with VR (5500 worked). eGPU needed. Details inside.  

of  2
  RSS

Rave-TZ
(@rave-tz)

I'm a VR developer and wanted to point out some interesting things I found out about the 5600m GPU.

The 5500m worked fine with many VR platforms with limited performance. I upgraded to the 5600m to find it outperformed my "VR Ready" laptop in benchmarks. However, I came to find a fatal flaw with the 5600m with VR. It does NOT support Direct Display Mode. The GPU treats the headsets as external monitors and no amount of tweaking things made it any better.

Tried this with Rift, Rift S, and Valve Index.

Direct Display Mode takes VR content and renders it directly to the headset without Windows treating it as an additional monitor.

I've tried this with Windows 10 1903 and 2004.

I also tried force feeding the Red driver from April on the 5600m. It gave me the gamer options and reported the right number of cores, VRAM, memory type, but called it a 5500m instead of a 5600m.

None of this had any effect.

Now, I have every relevant VR HMD in at my studio so I'm happy to test any configuration if anyone has any ideas.

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
itsage
(@itsage)
Illustrious Member Admin

@rave-tz, We likely have to wait for new Radeon drivers that enables Direct Display Mode in the RP 5600M dGPU. Which version did Boot Camp drivers come with? I got a Dell G5 SE this past weekend with the 5600M dGPU. How do I check if the drivers/GPU support Direct Display Mode?

external graphics card builds
best laptops for external GPU
eGPU enclosure buyer's guide

2019 13" MacBook Pro [8th,4C,U] + RX 5600 XT @ 32Gbps-TB3 (VisionTek mini eGFX) + macOS 11 & Win10 2004 [build link]  

ReplyQuote
Zhao Lang
(@zhao_lang)