Enclosure & Hardware Discussions
[HELP] DaVinci Resolve eGPU Problem (MacBook Pro 15" 2018 + Radeon VII - Razer C...

[HELP] DaVinci Resolve eGPU Problem (MacBook Pro 15" 2018 + Radeon VII - Razer Core Chroma)  

RSS

jalyxander
(@jalyxander)

Hi there, I'm new to the use of eGPU's and hardware in general but thought I'd invest in a Razer Core Chroma chassis with a AMD Radeon VII installed to speed up playback and rendering when using OpenFX and Noise Reduction in Davinci Resolve.

My Macbook specs are:

Post image

I was under the impression after the Mojave 10.14.5 update that the VII was now compatible with the MacOS - which technically it has as the OS recognises it through my external monitor and it performs better than the Vega 20 iGPU when using Univine benchmarks for graphics.

I have my Macbook connected to the Razer Core Chroma via TB3, and the Radeon VII is connected to my DELL P2715Q Monitor via DisplayPort to Mini-DP.

However, when I use Davinci Resolve 16, I have set the GPU to use the Radeon VII as Metal and there is absolutely no difference in playback and drops to about 9-11 FPS when using 1 temporal noise reduction node. The fact that the playback is exactly the same performance as the Vega 20 suggests to me something isn't right - I have opened Activity Monitor and checked GPU history and it says it is being used.

Is there something I am completely missing here as a noob?

I've just seen such good performance benchmarks and reviews for people using Davinci Resolve on this graphics card working on 8K RED etc. This is just a small ProRes file so it's beat me to why it's not performing as expected.

Would love to hear your thoughts, and let me know if you need anymore information.

Thanks in advance!

Pending: Add my system information and expected eGPU configuration to my signature to give context to my posts

ReplyQuote
craftsman
(@craftsman)
Trusted Member

Hi,