MacBook Pro 13" 2017 + eGPU on Nvidia for gaming under Windows

Notifications
Clear all

MacBook Pro 13" 2017 + eGPU on Nvidia for gaming under Windows  

RSS

Monroe
(@monroe)

Hi folks! I’m a newbie to this website as well as the eGPU itself.

Several previous weeks I’ve been looking for a gaming laptop or desktop PC for gaming. Recently, I’ve found some articles on eGPU, and this has interested me.

Well, I have a 13” MacBook Pro (2017) with the Core i5 3.1 GHz and 16GB of RAM. I am running macOS 10.13.5. I would like to use the Nvidia GTX 1070 or 1080 for playing latest games such as PUBG, Witcher 3, Call of Duty WWII etc. running under Windows.

According to some recent articles, for ex. 9to5 Mac website, “Nvidia GPUs are not supported at all, and Apple also notes that it doesn’t support eGPUs in Boot Camp for those wishing to run Windows”, or another article from this website, “Last but not least is gaming in Windows. While eGPU in Bootcamp mode is neither supported nor related to this 10.13.4 release, many Mac users have been looking forward to using Thunderbolt 3 MacBook Pros as part-time gaming laptops. I wish there were better news to report. For the time being, we must continue to follow an exhaustive procedure to make use of external GPU in Bootcamp.”

I am really confused with this because I watched some videos (released from 3 months to one year ago), and people have connected their eGPUs on Nvidia GPUs to MacBook Pro 13” both on macOS and Windows.

The second question I would like to ask is that the eGPU, connected to the Mac, could only display on the external monitor, is that right?

Also, reading articles, I found that if you connect the eGPU directly to the external monitor, it will give more benefits. Could you please explain this? Should I connect an eGPU to my Macbook, then connect the eGPU to the external monitor and, finally, connect the monitor to Macbook via the HDMI? I have a monitor with one HDMI and one VGA ports.