Asus ZenBook Pro (UX550GE) with thunderb...

Asus ZenBook Pro (UX550GE) with thunderbolt 3 + eGPU?  

spyro
(@spyro)

Hello there,

i recently bought the Asus ZenBook 15 (UX533FD) which is NOT the pro-version and does NOT contain thunderbolt 3.

After a few days now i was thinking about this:

When i replace my non-pro version with the PRO-version (which has thunderbolt 3), can i use just any GPU as external GPU and get at least 90% or higher of the original Performance it would have within a desktop?

I am new to the topic of eGPUs so i was wondering if anything else could be the bottleneck...

I am talking about 1080p gaming, not 4k.

• the specs of the laptop are:
    Intel Core i7-8750K Processor (9 MB Cache, up to 4.1 GHz)
  • NVIDIA GeForce 1050 Graphic, 4 GB DDR5 VRAM
  • 16 GB DDR4-2400 RAM
  • PCIe x4 SSD
  • 2x Thunderbolt 3

I would be really really gratefull if you could help me and tell me, if this could work.

My thinking is that i can use the notebook as mobile notebook and when i place it on my gaming table, i would just need to plug in the eGPU cable and have a really nice gaming setup (depending on the egpu i buy).

Also a newby question: From my understanding the eGPU-"case" is mainly a universal case and i can plug any gpu into it that i can buy for a normal desktop? Is that correct?

Thanks so much in advance 🙂

3 Replies
3 Replies
prasys
(@prasys)

Let me answer some of your questions. I got an AORUS RTX 2070 Box (it's a mini eGPU box - although one can get a eGPU casing + desktop GPU - but I wanted something that I can carry around) + Thinkpad X1 Extreme (spec wise looks about the same on paper). Now which eGPU you want to get , that's up to you - there are tons of reviews here - so have a read