(@janusz-nowak)

Hello,

I would like to connect
ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 8 GB ROG STRIX
with power supply
EVGA SuperNOVA T2 1000 Watt Titanium Modular
to
Asus ROG GL552VW (Windows 10)
and I want to use m.2. I do not know what adapter will be the best, and what else I have to do with a laptop to make it work. I learned about eGPU yesterday from youtube, so I have little knowledge.

Which adapter is the best?
ADT-Link R43SG
Beast EXP GDC (Version 9.x) M.2 M Key
PE4C V4.1 (PCIe x16 Adapter)

Thank you in advance for your help and best regards Smile

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
nando4
(@nando4)
Noble Member Admin

Soldered cable adapters are best (ADT-Link, PE4C) for link reliability and speed. Suggest use the US$13 x1 ADT-Link adapter to confirm compatibility, ie: eGPU is detected OK and then invest in pricier x4 adapters for more performance.

https://egpu.io/external-gpu-buyers-guide-2018/#m2-interface

eGPU Setup 1.35    •    eGPU Port Bandwidth Reference Table

2015 15" Dell Precision 7510 (Q M1000M) [6th,4C,H] + GTX 1080 Ti @32Gbps-M2 (ADT-Link R43SG) + Win10 1803 [build link]  

ReplyQuote
Janusz Nowak
(@janusz-nowak)

Thanks for the answer.

I asked Asus if my laptop supports M.2 key M NVMe PCIe3.0 x4 and they answered no, only M.2 2280, does it mean that I can forget about PCIe3.0 x4?

To do: Create my signature with system and expected eGPU configuration information to give context to my posts. I have no builds.

ReplyQuote
Emil Mihalcea
(@emil_mihalcea_1)

@janusz-nowak

Hy, I just installed an egpu on my GL552VW. I will write here how I turned my overheating and tired 5 year old ROG into a gaming beast.

Your M.2 SSD slot will not work with an egpu, because it is a SATA slot, not a PCI-E one. You will need to give up your wi-fi card and also your battery (because of the cable).