Enclosure & Hardware Discussions
i7 8750H + Aorus 1080 gaming box + 24" external monitor

i7 8750H + Aorus 1080 gaming box + 24" external monitor  

RSS

Neil K
(@neil-k)

Hey guys my name is Neil and i am new here to the egpu forums. I am planning to upgrade my current laptop but want the best performance for the money i shell out( standard case of all who wish to upgrade). 😉 
Now i have a few problems to solve before i choose my next system and the main is the usual portability to performance argument. I am a student currently pursuing product design and i would like to have a system that can be portable enough and have great graphics to work on fusion 360, adobe CC on the go and do some heavy gaming when plugged in at home. 

After a lot of research i have a few solutions but the most relevant one for me and to post on these forums is this:
1) An i7 8750H laptop with ok graphics like a 1050ti like this: 
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIAFXN7591485&cm_re=hidevolution_gl503ge-_-2WC-000N-000M8-_-Product

2) Add a 1080 Aorus gaming box for heavy gaming at home. 

3) Add a 24" external screen to get the best fps from the eGPU steup and make a home battlestation but still have an on the go system.
Link to screen:
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824009642&cm_re=144hz_monitor-_-24-009-642-_-Product

Total cost - 1099 + 699 + 200 = 2000$

What this helps me do is(hopefully) get a good on the go laptop that can handle mild work loads but when i get home have a full on gaming and work setup. 

Now my question is, is this kind of eGPU route good where performance and portability both are not sacrificed?  Or is better to go for a laptop that would cost as much as this setup which will sacrifice slightly on portability but may perform better? 

A laptop such as(Asus gl703gs(8750H+1070): 
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834234955&cm_re=asus_gl703gs-_-34-234-955-_-Product  
Cost - 1899$