Enclosure & Hardware Discussions
Juice worth the squeeze? Late 2015 iMac 27

Juice worth the squeeze? Late 2015 iMac 27  

RSS

rr697
(@rr697)

First off, hello! I'm new posting here but have been reading non stop the past few weeks and I'm in quite the fork in the road. First off here is my machine specs:

iMac Late 2015 5K 27" Retina
OS: Mojave 10.14.4 (do not want to go back to High Sierra)
Processor: 4GHz intel core i7
Memory: 32GB 1867 MHz DDR3
1 TB Internal HD
Graphics: AMD Radeon R9 M395X 4 GB

Now that you have seen up my skirt let me tell you guys what I do. I'm primarily an adult video editor that uses FCPX. I use lots of "effects" and work with 4k 8 bit footage. Under the most stressful times my computer is using 20gb of its 32GB of ram and the CPU has a 96% load...... I'm under the impression that if I had a different GPU that all would be well. I have weighed options of going to a PC or building a VM mac/pc. Unfortunately anyway I turn I will loose my beautiful 27" 5K display that lets me edit 4k footage at 100% resolution while editing....this is something I do not want to loose.It makes no sense to "upgrade" the "horsepower" and then be stuck on a shittier display when having the highest quality display is extremely important to me. Anyway enough of the rant.... point me in the right direction please and tell me what some realistic expectations in speed are.

Is this is good as it gets with TB2 and Mojave? How much better is it than what i have?
Sonnet Breakaway 550w box with a nVidia GeForce GTX Titan Black graphics card and using the Apple TB3 to TB2 adapter

So lets say I run the programs here on the form to run a TB2>TB3 eGPU on Mojave I have to use an older non Nvidia card.... what kind of gains will i get over my stock AMD Radeon R9 M395X 4 GB. even if it was a 50% gain this would save me a shit ton of time and increase my productivity..... I'm trying to make this mac last a little longer until Apple releases the new Mac Pro.