MacPro 2013 macOS Catalina + Win10 Bootcamp for CG and gaming

Notifications
Clear all

MacPro 2013 macOS Catalina + Win10 Bootcamp for CG and gaming  

of  3
  RSS

dogloop
(@dogloop)

Hello everyone and thanks for your amazing pioneering efforts.

I'm a trash can user and i've joyfully discovered egpu's forum some days ago.

I'm putting so much effort in doing my homework.

I've expanded my knowledge a lot since I started roaming around threads, guides and builds but still I feel like asking some questions to you, wise people.

Thing is, I'm a total newbie so please be patient if I sound confused or lost.

As a CG aritst and gamer I feel like the time has come to give the proper boost to what I thought it was just an outdated and hopless, very well refined trash can.

I use macOS environment for 2D graphics and Win10 for 3D and games.

My gear:

MacPro6,1 running 6-Core Intel Xeon E5

FP D500 x2

Memory 16Gb

BootROM 133.0.0.0.0

Thunderbolt Display Apple 27"

My expansion plans:

RazerCore X TB3 Enclosure + Radeon RX5700XT + Apple TB3>TB2 adapter + Thunderbolt cable

See that coming: will that work?

As stated on AMD's site, the card requires a Typical Board Power of 225W - https://www.amd.com/en/products/graphics/amd-radeon-rx-5700-xt

My MP has a max power consumption of 238W, as shown here - https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201796

I don't know if it even fits or matters anything since I'm going to power it externally, maybe someone could make it clearer for me.

Anyway, the PSU recommended for the card is 600W and the RazerCoreX should cover it.

I mainly use Eon Vue on Windows 10.

As stated on Eon's website, a graphic card with 3D mark score of 10.000 or better is recommended. I checked https://benchmarks.ul.com/compare/best-gpus to take knowledge and found out the 5700XT has a very good score and a decent price.