New to the world of eGPUs, would love some thoughts/opinions on my concerns befo...

Notifications
Clear all

New to the world of eGPUs, would love some thoughts/opinions on my concerns before I buy  

RSS

(@akash_radia)

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the world of eGPUs and have some lingering questions before I take the plunge. I have an HP spectre x360, late 2019 edition, and predominately play esports titles like FIFA 20 and Football Manager 2020. I'm looking for that little graphics kick that make those games a little bit more enjoyable. I'd previously posted on here for setup recs but after some research have narrowed it down to the following:

Laptop: HP Spectre x360, late 2019 w/thunderbolt 3. i7 intel 10th gen, 16gb RAM, 1tb ssd

eGPU setup options: 

- Razer Core X (or similar) with a budget graphics card like AMD Radeon RX 560 or 570/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050

OR

- Aorus Gigabyte Gaming Box with RX580 or Sonnet Breakaway with RX580

Budget: Would not like to go over $400/450 (was deciding between the spectre and razer blade stealth so if it goes any higher then I may just consider the stealth)

Given the above, here are my concerns. Apologies if they sound basic. Any response is much appreciated.

1. Would either of the above setups significantly raise my electric bill, create significant noise, and/or produce significant amounts of heat? I'd hate to get an angry letter from my landlord or piss off my roommate, making the experience a lot less enjoyable. 

2. Does any of the tech above have a history of being unreliable (disconnecting, difficult to setup, breaks easily etc.)?

3. I don't really have the space for a large external monitor and would prefer to play on my laptop screen (60hz I believe). Does that significantly decrease the fps/performance to the point where it's not worth getting an eGPU (open to getting an external monitor within a year or so).